SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1303 (Florence Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1828 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/04 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JUDYT said...
I have this pattern and hope to make several versions. Will definitely check the sleeve fit before cutting the fabric and when setting in the cut sleeve. JUDYT
9/26/05 3:28 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Some patterns and fabrics just work better with the traditional method, no doubt. Your jacket is really nice, I like the scalloped edge alot.
10/31/04 7:06 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty! The sleeves look great. The crowding method never gives me my best results either. Sigh.
10/30/04 5:24 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty. Thanks for the review. I keep thinking that I need to try this pattern.
10/30/04 11:51 AM
Mariella said...
Lovely results, MickyFan - a beautiful jacket and a beautiful colour. It seems that none of the Loes Hinse or Textile Studio patterns include ANY suggestions for finishing the armhole seam and you're not the only one who made the "mistake" of serging them together - I recall reading another review where the sewist did this and wasn't happy with the results either. I recently made the similarly styled Loes Hinse Piazza jacket and I cannot get the lapels to stay back, in spite of understitching them carefully, just as described in the pattern. I find I'm constantly checking to see that they are "in place".
10/30/04 10:53 AM
D1Diva said...
Timely review. I'm working on a Loes Hinse Retro Jacket and the sleeve cap looks exactly how you described, "tall than Mt. Everest!!" I, too, was going to use the ease plus method, but now I'll use the gathering stitch instead. Thanks for saving me a bunch of frustration!
10/30/04 10:20 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I like the hang of yours better also.
10/30/04 9:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice results in spite of your challenges. Looks very nice.
10/30/04 8:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6196

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now