SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1303 (Florence Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1828 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan

About MickeyFanstarstar
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 60)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/04 8:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
JUDYT said... (9/26/05 3:28 AM) Reply
I have this pattern and hope to make several versions. Will definitely check the sleeve fit before cutting the fabric and when setting in the cut sleeve. JUDYT
SouthernStitch said... (10/31/04 7:06 PM) Reply
Some patterns and fabrics just work better with the traditional method, no doubt. Your jacket is really nice, I like the scalloped edge alot.
Liana said... (10/30/04 5:24 PM) Reply
Very pretty! The sleeves look great. The crowding method never gives me my best results either. Sigh.
jlg said... (10/30/04 11:51 AM) Reply
Very pretty. Thanks for the review. I keep thinking that I need to try this pattern.
Mariella said... (10/30/04 10:53 AM) Reply
Lovely results, MickyFan - a beautiful jacket and a beautiful colour. It seems that none of the Loes Hinse or Textile Studio patterns include ANY suggestions for finishing the armhole seam and you're not the only one who made the "mistake" of serging them together - I recall reading another review where the sewist did this and wasn't happy with the results either. I recently made the similarly styled Loes Hinse Piazza jacket and I cannot get the lapels to stay back, in spite of understitching them carefully, just as described in the pattern. I find I'm constantly checking to see that they are "in place".
D1Diva said... (10/30/04 10:20 AM) Reply
Timely review. I'm working on a Loes Hinse Retro Jacket and the sleeve cap looks exactly how you described, "tall than Mt. Everest!!" I, too, was going to use the ease plus method, but now I'll use the gathering stitch instead. Thanks for saving me a bunch of frustration!
Modiste Madness said... (10/30/04 9:36 AM) Reply
I like the hang of yours better also.
Danvillegirl said... (10/30/04 8:23 AM) Reply
Nice results in spite of your challenges. Looks very nice.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

No Pattern Used Self drafted

by: Dilliander

Burda 7276

by: Kira S

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details