Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8248 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SHIRT) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 509 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:E.A.Y.
photo
About E.A.Y.
CA
Member since: 1/25/12
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/12 6:11 PM
Last Updated:2/2/12 6:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
What a pretty print. Made for a really cute blouse.
2/2/12 6:45 PM
lamstu said...
Lovely blouse and looks fine from here!
2/2/12 7:11 PM
jlg said...
I agree. It looks very nice on you. Pretty fabric.
2/2/12 7:55 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a gorgeous blouse--love the print!! I could not believe that perfectly fitted blouse had a kimono sleeve!!
2/2/12 8:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great blouse, fit and pattern matching across the front! Like AuntieShel I had to look twice because I couldn't believe a dolman sleeve could fit so well. Very nicely done.
2/2/12 8:33 PM
Elona said...
The real thing is as pretty as the illustration, which is rare, I think. And I agree: that is an amazing fit for a dolman sleeve.
2/2/12 8:38 PM
Christas said...
I think your blouse looks great! What a nice fabric choice, too!
2/2/12 9:05 PM
margk said...
It looks better than "OK" to me! Nice!
2/2/12 9:53 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty blouse! I would never have looked twice at this pattern but I may have to buy it.
2/2/12 10:25 PM
E.A.Y. said...
Thanks, everyone for the kind words! The cotton I used made all the difference, I think. It is lightweight but fairly tightly woven - crisp-ish - and I think that helps make the blouse look its best. I'm not sure a soft floppy fabric would be as nice.
2/3/12 1:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
I am envious because when I made this pattern a few years ago, before joining PR, it did not work for me. I found it much too tight in the hip and too short in the body. Now that I know more about fitting I could probably make a better fist of it. A very nice shirt; enjoy wearing it.
2/3/12 4:52 AM
grey ann said...
I agree, it fits nice and at first I thought the sleeves WERE set-in. The print worked up so nicely too.
2/3/12 5:47 AM
Elaray said...
I love short sleeved woven blouses! I sew mostly from BurdaStyle Magazine and they rarely show classic styles like this one. I'm on the lookout for this type of blouse and I'm glad you reviewed this pattern. I'd have to make a muslin first, because I usually make a 22 top, but I'll certainly investigate this pattern further.
2/3/12 9:02 AM
swany said...
This looks like a keeper. I love the print.
2/3/12 10:10 AM
marthamyers said...
Cool blouse and great choice of fabric for it. I'd love to hear more about your adventures (re)learning to use the old Singer buttonholer. I have my mom's old Singer with that cool device but I'm afraid to try it and Mother is gone. :(
2/3/12 11:57 AM
E.A.Y. said...
Elaray, I think it would be pretty easy to size up, especially if the collar and neckline fit you in a 20.
2/3/12 8:33 PM
waltzqueen said...
I have this pattern and I'm delighted you had such a good experience with it. It's on my list!
2/7/12 2:10 PM
EyeSew1 said...
Love the blouse - well done - beautiful fabric!
2/19/12 6:45 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Very pretty blouse! Fit looks great. This is my next project, so thanks for the great review.
3/21/12 10:10 AM
E.A.Y. said...
I was thinking about this blouse again. One reason the dolman sleeves don't look like dolman sleeves is that I have very square shoulders. If you have sloping sholders, it won't look the same.
2/27/13 11:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

HotPatterns 1002
photo
Review by Ellenatlga on 6/22/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2010-31
photo
Review by Sandi S on 5/26/13
Read Review

Butterick 5301 Pattern ( Size XXL-1X-2X-3X-4X-5X-6X )
Butterick 5301 Pattern ( Size XXL-1X-2X-3X-4X-5X-6X )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us