SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2057 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1114 times 
Reviewed by:couturemom
photo

 
 
About couturemomstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/12 10:55 AM
Last Updated:3/9/13 9:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LM2HYD said...
Beautiful! I love a red coat!
3/22/13 8:54 PM
norie creates said...
Amazing job on this! Love the color and details!
3/11/13 8:36 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat is spectacular.
3/10/13 12:03 PM
redside said...
Beautiful color, amazing details!
3/10/13 10:18 AM
dolcevita said...
Superb work. Garments in scarlet are so eye-catching, but your sewing more than stands up to the scrutiny. Beautiful.
3/10/13 10:07 AM
MNBarb said...
You have created a really beautiful coat!
3/10/13 8:59 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful coat and nice detail stitching! It's nice that you were able to find just the right shade of red buttons. Great job!
3/9/13 10:17 PM
sisteract2 said...
It is beautiful. Love the colour and finish
1/10/13 6:02 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I think a red coat is just stunning--just what you need on those impossible winter mornings.
11/6/12 9:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely coat!
2/14/12 0:05 AM
JETrinity said...
How cute is this. You did great.
2/11/12 7:16 PM
Sweetheart3 said...

2/10/12 10:06 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I have this pattern but have yet to make it. I love your red coat!
2/10/12 10:06 PM
mtnbluebird said...
Beautifully sewn. Looks so stylish.
2/10/12 5:50 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful coat! I have this pattern in my stash, plus all the fabric, trim and notions to make it. Your lovely version inspres me to get to cutting and sewing! I think I'll try to make bound buttonholes as you have suggested. Thanks for the great review and I look forward to more reviews from you!
2/10/12 4:42 PM
pdiddly said...
absolutely beautiful
2/10/12 2:59 PM
MNBarb said...
What a pretty red coat! The extra time you spent on the stitching details really shows and makes this a special garment.
2/10/12 1:15 PM
jewelsew said...
Nice hand stitching details! Beautiful coat.
2/10/12 12:27 PM
tess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
2/10/12 8:20 AM
Tarrbaby said...
FABULOUS!
2/10/12 7:41 AM
KathleenS said...
Fantastic. I love all the horizontal and vertical lines, right down to the line detail on the buttons. PS Definitely not black! Isn't it frustrating when RTW coats come in such a limited range of colours.
2/10/12 7:24 AM
margk said...
Great review and gorgeous coat! Your extra details are fantastic. The buttonholes are hidden when buttoned, so great work!
2/10/12 5:36 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous coat. Great job!
2/9/12 11:49 PM
Kazmoda said...
Love your coat, it looks so beautiful in red! I made coat using the same pattern and very happy with the results.
2/9/12 11:05 PM
4u2cme said...
Your coat is gorgeous. Great work on the details.
2/9/12 10:14 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ditto all previous praise! Beautiful coat.. The button echoes the styling details so very, very nicely.. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!
2/9/12 8:10 PM
jlg said...
Wow. This looks fantastic.
2/9/12 6:57 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat is gorgeous, beautiful work.
2/9/12 4:45 PM
Claverie said...
Beautiful!
2/9/12 4:36 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful coat great details, the buttonhole look like a similar coat I made years ago the whole thing was a success until I got to the buttons holes, once buttoned you could not tell but I know what you mean about not being substantial enough for the coat...
2/9/12 3:31 PM
coudcoud said...
Beautiful work! Love it! Looks better than the one on the pattern cover!
2/9/12 2:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous coat! It definitely fulfills all the criteria you set for yourself. Beautiful details and I love the color.
2/9/12 1:57 PM
BexInMD said...
I love the shape of this coat and the detailing that you added.
2/9/12 1:34 PM
Riesie said...
What a beautiful coat, and in my favorite color, too! Very nice review
2/9/12 1:19 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your sewing success! What a beautiful coat and it won't date! Thanks so much for your review, especially for the info regarding sizing.
2/9/12 11:46 AM
TJSEWS said...
I think your coat is gorgeous! Beautiful craftsmanship. I know it's too late now, but since your machine does not do good buttonholes on thick fabric, would you consider doing bound buttonsholes for your next coat?
2/9/12 11:41 AM
tsedai said...
Lovely! All of the details look fabulous, and the color is great.
2/9/12 11:30 AM
Sallys Sewing Journal said...
Gorgeous coat! This is a great start for your 1st review! I hope that you get a blog. I would love to see more of your sewing!
2/9/12 10:59 AM
thestitcher said...
Lovely Coat!!! I want it!
2/9/12 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now