SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2057 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1094 times 
Reviewed by:couturemom
photo

 
 
About couturemomstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/12 10:55 AM
Last Updated:3/9/13 9:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thestitcher said...
Lovely Coat!!! I want it!
2/9/12 10:55 AM
Sallys Sewing Journal said...
Gorgeous coat! This is a great start for your 1st review! I hope that you get a blog. I would love to see more of your sewing!
2/9/12 10:59 AM
tsedai said...
Lovely! All of the details look fabulous, and the color is great.
2/9/12 11:30 AM
TJSEWS said...
I think your coat is gorgeous! Beautiful craftsmanship. I know it's too late now, but since your machine does not do good buttonholes on thick fabric, would you consider doing bound buttonsholes for your next coat?
2/9/12 11:41 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your sewing success! What a beautiful coat and it won't date! Thanks so much for your review, especially for the info regarding sizing.
2/9/12 11:46 AM
Riesie said...
What a beautiful coat, and in my favorite color, too! Very nice review
2/9/12 1:19 PM
BexInMD said...
I love the shape of this coat and the detailing that you added.
2/9/12 1:34 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous coat! It definitely fulfills all the criteria you set for yourself. Beautiful details and I love the color.
2/9/12 1:57 PM
coudcoud said...
Beautiful work! Love it! Looks better than the one on the pattern cover!
2/9/12 2:47 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful coat great details, the buttonhole look like a similar coat I made years ago the whole thing was a success until I got to the buttons holes, once buttoned you could not tell but I know what you mean about not being substantial enough for the coat...
2/9/12 3:31 PM
Claverie said...
Beautiful!
2/9/12 4:36 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat is gorgeous, beautiful work.
2/9/12 4:45 PM
jlg said...
Wow. This looks fantastic.
2/9/12 6:57 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ditto all previous praise! Beautiful coat.. The button echoes the styling details so very, very nicely.. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!
2/9/12 8:10 PM
4u2cme said...
Your coat is gorgeous. Great work on the details.
2/9/12 10:14 PM
Kazmoda said...
Love your coat, it looks so beautiful in red! I made coat using the same pattern and very happy with the results.
2/9/12 11:05 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous coat. Great job!
2/9/12 11:49 PM
margk said...
Great review and gorgeous coat! Your extra details are fantastic. The buttonholes are hidden when buttoned, so great work!
2/10/12 5:36 AM
KathleenS said...
Fantastic. I love all the horizontal and vertical lines, right down to the line detail on the buttons. PS Definitely not black! Isn't it frustrating when RTW coats come in such a limited range of colours.
2/10/12 7:24 AM
Tarrbaby said...
FABULOUS!
2/10/12 7:41 AM
tess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
2/10/12 8:20 AM
jewelsew said...
Nice hand stitching details! Beautiful coat.
2/10/12 12:27 PM
MNBarb said...
What a pretty red coat! The extra time you spent on the stitching details really shows and makes this a special garment.
2/10/12 1:15 PM
pdiddly said...
absolutely beautiful
2/10/12 2:59 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful coat! I have this pattern in my stash, plus all the fabric, trim and notions to make it. Your lovely version inspres me to get to cutting and sewing! I think I'll try to make bound buttonholes as you have suggested. Thanks for the great review and I look forward to more reviews from you!
2/10/12 4:42 PM
mtnbluebird said...
Beautifully sewn. Looks so stylish.
2/10/12 5:50 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I have this pattern but have yet to make it. I love your red coat!
2/10/12 10:06 PM
Sweetheart3 said...

2/10/12 10:06 PM
JETrinity said...
How cute is this. You did great.
2/11/12 7:16 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely coat!
2/14/12 0:05 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I think a red coat is just stunning--just what you need on those impossible winter mornings.
11/6/12 9:55 AM
sisteract2 said...
It is beautiful. Love the colour and finish
1/10/13 6:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful coat and nice detail stitching! It's nice that you were able to find just the right shade of red buttons. Great job!
3/9/13 10:17 PM
MNBarb said...
You have created a really beautiful coat!
3/10/13 8:59 AM
dolcevita said...
Superb work. Garments in scarlet are so eye-catching, but your sewing more than stands up to the scrutiny. Beautiful.
3/10/13 10:07 AM
redside said...
Beautiful color, amazing details!
3/10/13 10:18 AM
Lori V said...
Your coat is spectacular.
3/10/13 12:03 PM
norie creates said...
Amazing job on this! Love the color and details!
3/11/13 8:36 PM
LM2HYD said...
Beautiful! I love a red coat!
3/22/13 8:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5613

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now