SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2057 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1094 times 
Reviewed by:couturemom
photo

 
 
About couturemomstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/12 10:55 AM
Last Updated:3/9/13 9:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thestitcher said...
Lovely Coat!!! I want it!
2/9/12 10:55 AM
Sallys Sewing Journal said...
Gorgeous coat! This is a great start for your 1st review! I hope that you get a blog. I would love to see more of your sewing!
2/9/12 10:59 AM
tsedai said...
Lovely! All of the details look fabulous, and the color is great.
2/9/12 11:30 AM
TJSEWS said...
I think your coat is gorgeous! Beautiful craftsmanship. I know it's too late now, but since your machine does not do good buttonholes on thick fabric, would you consider doing bound buttonsholes for your next coat?
2/9/12 11:41 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your sewing success! What a beautiful coat and it won't date! Thanks so much for your review, especially for the info regarding sizing.
2/9/12 11:46 AM
Riesie said...
What a beautiful coat, and in my favorite color, too! Very nice review
2/9/12 1:19 PM
BexInMD said...
I love the shape of this coat and the detailing that you added.
2/9/12 1:34 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous coat! It definitely fulfills all the criteria you set for yourself. Beautiful details and I love the color.
2/9/12 1:57 PM
coudcoud said...
Beautiful work! Love it! Looks better than the one on the pattern cover!
2/9/12 2:47 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful coat great details, the buttonhole look like a similar coat I made years ago the whole thing was a success until I got to the buttons holes, once buttoned you could not tell but I know what you mean about not being substantial enough for the coat...
2/9/12 3:31 PM
Claverie said...
Beautiful!
2/9/12 4:36 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat is gorgeous, beautiful work.
2/9/12 4:45 PM
jlg said...
Wow. This looks fantastic.
2/9/12 6:57 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ditto all previous praise! Beautiful coat.. The button echoes the styling details so very, very nicely.. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!
2/9/12 8:10 PM
4u2cme said...
Your coat is gorgeous. Great work on the details.
2/9/12 10:14 PM
Kazmoda said...
Love your coat, it looks so beautiful in red! I made coat using the same pattern and very happy with the results.
2/9/12 11:05 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous coat. Great job!
2/9/12 11:49 PM
margk said...
Great review and gorgeous coat! Your extra details are fantastic. The buttonholes are hidden when buttoned, so great work!
2/10/12 5:36 AM
KathleenS said...
Fantastic. I love all the horizontal and vertical lines, right down to the line detail on the buttons. PS Definitely not black! Isn't it frustrating when RTW coats come in such a limited range of colours.
2/10/12 7:24 AM
Tarrbaby said...
FABULOUS!
2/10/12 7:41 AM
tess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
2/10/12 8:20 AM
jewelsew said...
Nice hand stitching details! Beautiful coat.
2/10/12 12:27 PM
MNBarb said...
What a pretty red coat! The extra time you spent on the stitching details really shows and makes this a special garment.
2/10/12 1:15 PM
pdiddly said...
absolutely beautiful
2/10/12 2:59 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful coat! I have this pattern in my stash, plus all the fabric, trim and notions to make it. Your lovely version inspres me to get to cutting and sewing! I think I'll try to make bound buttonholes as you have suggested. Thanks for the great review and I look forward to more reviews from you!
2/10/12 4:42 PM
mtnbluebird said...
Beautifully sewn. Looks so stylish.
2/10/12 5:50 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I have this pattern but have yet to make it. I love your red coat!
2/10/12 10:06 PM
Sweetheart3 said...

2/10/12 10:06 PM
JETrinity said...
How cute is this. You did great.
2/11/12 7:16 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely coat!
2/14/12 0:05 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I think a red coat is just stunning--just what you need on those impossible winter mornings.
11/6/12 9:55 AM
sisteract2 said...
It is beautiful. Love the colour and finish
1/10/13 6:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful coat and nice detail stitching! It's nice that you were able to find just the right shade of red buttons. Great job!
3/9/13 10:17 PM
MNBarb said...
You have created a really beautiful coat!
3/10/13 8:59 AM
dolcevita said...
Superb work. Garments in scarlet are so eye-catching, but your sewing more than stands up to the scrutiny. Beautiful.
3/10/13 10:07 AM
redside said...
Beautiful color, amazing details!
3/10/13 10:18 AM
Lori V said...
Your coat is spectacular.
3/10/13 12:03 PM
norie creates said...
Amazing job on this! Love the color and details!
3/11/13 8:36 PM
LM2HYD said...
Beautiful! I love a red coat!
3/22/13 8:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 6185

photo
by: rachella

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now