SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6044 (MEN'S SHIRTS)

37 more reviews
Review submitted in February Challenge - Menswear Contest
Viewed 231 times 
Reviewed by:EmmySews
photo

 
 
About EmmySews
WI USA
Member since: 1/1/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/12 1:20 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Thickanatomy said... (5/22/13 8:32 PM) Reply
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm working on this project for my hubby. You did and amazing job? I'm make view B just as you did, but I so confused on the sleeves and I would really appreciate it if you can lend some assistance. I know you sewed this LONG ago, but I really I'm having a hard time with the sleeve, pieces 8 and 9 are the sleeves, but 8 was cut on the fold and I'm so confused on how I am to put this together. It looks like piece #8 was not to be cut on the fold as one piece. Should I cut piece#8 and make it 2 pieces? Please help from anyone. I'm so new and so confused. Thanks in advance.
barebear said... (2/19/12 11:37 PM) Reply
I'm so impressed by this shirt, especially considering it's only your second garment?! That's impressive, tackling buttonholes and collar and collar stand, cuffs, everything. Very nice job! I'm glad your husband likes and appreciates your hard work. :)
margk said... (2/17/12 3:38 PM) Reply
It's no mean feat to make a shirt! It looks fantastic and he looks happy! Hand stitching can give you great results through better control, but there are ways of doing most things by machine.
sew4real said... (2/17/12 2:36 PM) Reply
Great job! Hard to believe you just began sewing.
sewmytime said... (2/16/12 6:17 PM) Reply
Great job! This is a fantastic shirt!
JenSews2 said... (2/16/12 3:26 PM) Reply
Wow! Great job! Congrats on the terrific shirt!!!
VivianZ said... (2/16/12 8:00 AM) Reply
I am so impressed. What a complicated beginning pattern. Great job and very nice shirt.
Darla in PA said... (2/15/12 8:12 PM) Reply
Great looking shirt!
tigergirl said... (2/15/12 3:14 PM) Reply
Good for you, you've done a great job!
Sassy T said... (2/15/12 2:39 PM) Reply
Congrats that is fantastic. Love slipstitching, a life saver lol. Some good youtube vids on it too.
RLL said... (2/15/12 2:20 PM) Reply
Wow, a beginner and you have tackled a mans shirt and buttonholes so soon? Good for you..NO FEAR! Looks very nice so keep up the good work. And there are easier ways to construct collars and cuffs all by machine......start researching on the internet (that is what I did). There are many sources out there. Good luck
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3463

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Pattern Details
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Butterick 4461

photo
by: superchloe

Review