Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2004-130 (fur/suede jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1660 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/04 3:16 PM
Last Updated:11/12/04 3:24 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great jacket! I saw one just like it at a boutique for over $200. You must be so happy with it! -Ann
11/12/04 3:22 PM
els said...
Woh you really made a copy of that RTW picture in your photo album. Congratulations, hope you will get some cold weather so you can wear your new cozy looking coat.Had to smile about your sons question and your answer on it with a straight face ofcourse like mothers can do instantly if an answer demands it.
11/12/04 3:40 PM
Diana M said...
WOW! The effort you put into it REALLY paid off. Gorgeous jacket. Thanks for reviewing it.
11/12/04 3:42 PM
Lisette said...
Great coat!
11/12/04 4:15 PM
Vonnevo said...
Super jacket ! It is fabulous and really suits you. Thanks for the review. Got to love that Burda style
11/12/04 4:22 PM
cindyann said...
GREAT! You did a wonderful job.
11/12/04 4:25 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very sharp! You've taken that fabric and made it gorgeous!
11/12/04 4:26 PM
Athelas said...
Wow! That is fabulous! You should live up here in NE where you could wear it 8 months/yr!
11/12/04 4:31 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Your jacket looks fantastic, and the fit is perfect! Love the DS "Faux" story too!
11/12/04 5:44 PM
SewTabby said...
STUNNING!
11/12/04 5:47 PM
jlg said...
All the adjectives that I was going to use have been used. Great coat, review and DS story.
11/12/04 6:09 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
First off, hooray for your son!! Clearly you've raised him right. :-) Secondly, I'll ditto his comment: Cool! Way cool, in fact. The seaming and welt pockets are lovely details on a completely fabulous coat. Where do I place my order?
11/12/04 6:10 PM
SandraB said...
Wow!! This fantastic jacket almost (not quite, but almost) makes me wish I had a winter climate to wear it in. What a beautiful garment, and it fits you so well. Good job. Your hard work has really paid off.
11/12/04 7:27 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous jacket and a lovely story about your son. He sounds a very caring little boy.
11/12/04 7:53 PM
candyo said...
Another great garment from Kay! Can't wait to see the next one! Glad no 'fauxs' were hurt to make your jacket!
11/12/04 7:54 PM
Levone said...
Great looking coat...you doing a wonderful, professional job.
11/12/04 7:58 PM
chocobar said...
You did a fantastic job. Now, I want to make one (and coming from Princess Procrastinator that's saying something). I LOVE the comment by your son; how funny! A warm memory to go with your warm jacket.
11/12/04 10:00 PM
edube said...
I do a lot of sewing but it never would have occurred to me to attempt this jacket. And I could use it too--I live in Maine! You review has really made me rethink this pattern.
11/12/04 10:33 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW! What a fantastic coat. This one caught my eye too but I'm too chicken to try it. What a terrific challenge for a first time WOF, and a raging success. Cheers!
11/13/04 0:02 AM
Vivienne said...
I don't care how many faux died for your jacket - it is gorgeous on you.
11/13/04 0:09 AM
Eli said...
It is just lovely! A lot of trouble but a great result!
11/13/04 1:55 AM
momkoz said...
wow, that jacket is awesome! momkoz jennifer
11/13/04 7:47 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Save the Faux's! Your jacket is incredible! May have to drive the 25m to Hancocks for my own Faux.
11/13/04 8:26 AM
pharmercoon said...
After I posted my review, I was unable to get back to the computer for a while. I couldn't believe all the sweet comments. Thanks everyone!! Kay
11/14/04 4:35 AM
Catmama said...
terrific jacket and the color really suits you! Good job!
11/14/04 10:30 PM
Eli said...
It is awesome! I commend you for your lack of fear to work with the fur!
11/14/04 11:46 PM
Sue_WA said...
Absolutely beautiful! It looks great on you!
11/16/04 3:31 PM
Reedy said...
Great jacket and great review! Thanks for the warning about working with faux fur.
2/22/05 11:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 5520 Knight Costume
photo
Review by migander on 11/6/09
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other MailOrder705
photo
Review by Andreahg on 7/8/10
Read Review

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us