Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Serendipity Studio: SDG-103 (Stella Strip Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 214 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Sue Romero
photo
Friend of PR
About Sue Romero
Member since: 5/12/10
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/12 11:30 PM
Last Updated:2/21/12 11:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nanax4 said...
Sorry that you aren't entirely satisfied with your skirt. I think that its lovely very summery and cheerful!
2/22/12 3:58 AM
Claverie said...
I'll share with you what a few have shared with me when I do a project that just doesn't feel right .... "Maybe it'll grow on you." It just might. I love the color/print/pattern thing you have going on. It's an unusual skirt, but that makes it cool. Try it out ... you might be surprised how many compliments you get.
2/22/12 8:11 AM
nicegirl said...
Sounds like an ambitious project! But I think the skirt came out very fun, especially for Spring.
2/22/12 11:44 AM
mad stash said...
Hmmm. The colors and choice of fabrics is great, love the quirky fabric strip construction, and I'm a sucker for tea-length skirts and dresses. The proportion works for you. In my opinion, it's the elastic waist that's problematic. That's a lot of fabric to gather up. Given all the pros of the skirt vs only one con, it might be worth it to tailor it closer around your upper hips, then go to a flat front waistband with the elastic only in back. It would look straight out of an Anthropologie catalogue! Styled with a sleeveless, untucked tank top and some kind of casual, slip-on clunky soled sandal will make you the belle of the barbeque.
2/22/12 12:15 PM
Sue Romero said...
Thank you everybody! You're so encouraging! You're right, Mad Stash, about the elastic. It did get pretty bulky with all that fabric pleated in, but with lighter fabrics it would work better, and the flat front waistband is a good tip too.
2/23/12 10:06 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Very cute skirt! Is this one from one of her skirt booklets?? Love those skirt booklets for a 1, 2,3 easy skirt and her fabric selections are the best, I actually ordered some of the same fabrics she used for one skirt ( typewriter fabric w/ numbers) EVeryone wants that skirt or better said,,,that fabric! thank you for the review,, I do so love her patterns, and booklets ,,AND her new purse book!
5/21/12 6:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8750 Misses' Skirt
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 10/3/11
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2794 Sweetheart Top
photo
Review by kathigarn on 9/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6970 Pattern
Burda 6970 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.92
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us