SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> SDG-103 (Stella Strip Skirt)

Viewed 231 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Romero
Friend of PR

About Sue Romero
Member since: 5/12/10
Reviews: 7 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Intermediate
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/12 11:30 PM
Last Updated:2/21/12 11:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Cultured Purl said... (5/21/12 6:21 AM) Reply
Very cute skirt! Is this one from one of her skirt booklets?? Love those skirt booklets for a 1, 2,3 easy skirt and her fabric selections are the best, I actually ordered some of the same fabrics she used for one skirt ( typewriter fabric w/ numbers) EVeryone wants that skirt or better said,,,that fabric! thank you for the review,, I do so love her patterns, and booklets ,,AND her new purse book!
Sue Romero said... (2/23/12 10:06 AM) Reply
Thank you everybody! You're so encouraging! You're right, Mad Stash, about the elastic. It did get pretty bulky with all that fabric pleated in, but with lighter fabrics it would work better, and the flat front waistband is a good tip too.
mad stash said... (2/22/12 12:15 PM) Reply
Hmmm. The colors and choice of fabrics is great, love the quirky fabric strip construction, and I'm a sucker for tea-length skirts and dresses. The proportion works for you. In my opinion, it's the elastic waist that's problematic. That's a lot of fabric to gather up. Given all the pros of the skirt vs only one con, it might be worth it to tailor it closer around your upper hips, then go to a flat front waistband with the elastic only in back. It would look straight out of an Anthropologie catalogue! Styled with a sleeveless, untucked tank top and some kind of casual, slip-on clunky soled sandal will make you the belle of the barbeque.
nicegirl said... (2/22/12 11:44 AM) Reply
Sounds like an ambitious project! But I think the skirt came out very fun, especially for Spring.
Claverie said... (2/22/12 8:11 AM) Reply
I'll share with you what a few have shared with me when I do a project that just doesn't feel right .... "Maybe it'll grow on you." It just might. I love the color/print/pattern thing you have going on. It's an unusual skirt, but that makes it cool. Try it out ... you might be surprised how many compliments you get.
Nanax4 said... (2/22/12 3:58 AM) Reply
Sorry that you aren't entirely satisfied with your skirt. I think that its lovely very summery and cheerful!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

McCall's M6462

by: Onyee

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Pattern Details