Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5469 (Plus Size Skirt and Knit Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1305 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/04 9:49 PM
Last Updated:11/17/04 9:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Looks good on you.
11/18/04 5:45 AM
pharmercoon said...
I love the leopard print! Kay
11/18/04 5:58 AM
Linda E. said...
looks very good on you. maybe I need this pattern to add to my wish lists.
11/18/04 7:14 AM
Athelas said...
Great fit! It looks much better on you than on the model.
11/18/04 7:14 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice. The design is very flattering on you, and I love the leopard print.
11/18/04 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
You certainly made this into a fun top. I have to try that shirring one of these days.
11/18/04 8:18 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your top, and thanks for this review. I think it's absurd though, to have to do a BCA on a plus sized pattern. I know there are many B cup plus sized women out there, but I bet most of us fall into at least a C cup!
11/18/04 9:42 AM
Steffie said...
Mary T - Several others have made this top but did not make a bust adjustment. I probably didn't have to make it, but since I did, the shirring falls across my bust where I want it - not up higher on my chest as happens with the RTW tops of similar design. I am very happy with the fit.
11/18/04 10:32 AM
tamtay said...
Looks great, Steffie; very nice shirt. I just finished (but haven't yet reviewed) the same shirred version of this pattern and sure enough--it's tight across the bazooms. I didn't need an fba on the scoop neck version, but the shirred version's a different story. You look wonderful in yours.
11/18/04 12:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Nice sewing - it looks great.
11/18/04 2:02 PM
Mini said...
Isn't this a wonderful pattern? I like the leopard print too. Your comments on the shirring will be helpful, as I haven't made that version yet.
11/18/04 5:00 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You look great in your new shirt. I'm glad you gave this pattern a try. I'm a C cup and didn't do the fba, didn't need to. In fact, when I made it in onionskin, it turned out a bit large in the bust. Tamtay, funny that you needed a FBA on this view but not on the other since the finished bust measurements are larger for this view. Mini, you have to try this one. I bet you'll love it.
11/18/04 9:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Very pretty top and it looks great on you! The FBA info is also very helpful.
12/18/08 10:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2977
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/21/10
Read Review

Burda 9438 Pattern
Burda 9438 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest MY Pattern 2008
photo
Review by Luckylibbe... on 8/1/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us