SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5469 (Plus Size Skirt and Knit Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1308 times 
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo

 
 
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/04 9:49 PM
Last Updated:11/17/04 9:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Looks good on you.
11/18/04 5:45 AM
pharmercoon said...
I love the leopard print! Kay
11/18/04 5:58 AM
Linda E. said...
looks very good on you. maybe I need this pattern to add to my wish lists.
11/18/04 7:14 AM
Athelas said...
Great fit! It looks much better on you than on the model.
11/18/04 7:14 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice. The design is very flattering on you, and I love the leopard print.
11/18/04 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
You certainly made this into a fun top. I have to try that shirring one of these days.
11/18/04 8:18 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your top, and thanks for this review. I think it's absurd though, to have to do a BCA on a plus sized pattern. I know there are many B cup plus sized women out there, but I bet most of us fall into at least a C cup!
11/18/04 9:42 AM
Steffie said...
Mary T - Several others have made this top but did not make a bust adjustment. I probably didn't have to make it, but since I did, the shirring falls across my bust where I want it - not up higher on my chest as happens with the RTW tops of similar design. I am very happy with the fit.
11/18/04 10:32 AM
tamtay said...
Looks great, Steffie; very nice shirt. I just finished (but haven't yet reviewed) the same shirred version of this pattern and sure enough--it's tight across the bazooms. I didn't need an fba on the scoop neck version, but the shirred version's a different story. You look wonderful in yours.
11/18/04 12:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Nice sewing - it looks great.
11/18/04 2:02 PM
Mini said...
Isn't this a wonderful pattern? I like the leopard print too. Your comments on the shirring will be helpful, as I haven't made that version yet.
11/18/04 5:00 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You look great in your new shirt. I'm glad you gave this pattern a try. I'm a C cup and didn't do the fba, didn't need to. In fact, when I made it in onionskin, it turned out a bit large in the bust. Tamtay, funny that you needed a FBA on this view but not on the other since the finished bust measurements are larger for this view. Mini, you have to try this one. I bet you'll love it.
11/18/04 9:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Very pretty top and it looks great on you! The FBA info is also very helpful.
12/18/08 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

StyleArc Karen Walk Short

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
New Look 6107

photo
by: Bootzey

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now