SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5469 (Plus Size Skirt and Knit Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1308 times 
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo

 
 
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/04 9:49 PM
Last Updated:11/17/04 9:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Looks good on you.
11/18/04 5:45 AM
pharmercoon said...
I love the leopard print! Kay
11/18/04 5:58 AM
Linda E. said...
looks very good on you. maybe I need this pattern to add to my wish lists.
11/18/04 7:14 AM
Athelas said...
Great fit! It looks much better on you than on the model.
11/18/04 7:14 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice. The design is very flattering on you, and I love the leopard print.
11/18/04 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
You certainly made this into a fun top. I have to try that shirring one of these days.
11/18/04 8:18 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your top, and thanks for this review. I think it's absurd though, to have to do a BCA on a plus sized pattern. I know there are many B cup plus sized women out there, but I bet most of us fall into at least a C cup!
11/18/04 9:42 AM
Steffie said...
Mary T - Several others have made this top but did not make a bust adjustment. I probably didn't have to make it, but since I did, the shirring falls across my bust where I want it - not up higher on my chest as happens with the RTW tops of similar design. I am very happy with the fit.
11/18/04 10:32 AM
tamtay said...
Looks great, Steffie; very nice shirt. I just finished (but haven't yet reviewed) the same shirred version of this pattern and sure enough--it's tight across the bazooms. I didn't need an fba on the scoop neck version, but the shirred version's a different story. You look wonderful in yours.
11/18/04 12:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Nice sewing - it looks great.
11/18/04 2:02 PM
Mini said...
Isn't this a wonderful pattern? I like the leopard print too. Your comments on the shirring will be helpful, as I haven't made that version yet.
11/18/04 5:00 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You look great in your new shirt. I'm glad you gave this pattern a try. I'm a C cup and didn't do the fba, didn't need to. In fact, when I made it in onionskin, it turned out a bit large in the bust. Tamtay, funny that you needed a FBA on this view but not on the other since the finished bust measurements are larger for this view. Mini, you have to try this one. I bet you'll love it.
11/18/04 9:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Very pretty top and it looks great on you! The FBA info is also very helpful.
12/18/08 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Farbenmix WILLEMIENTJE

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
McCall's 5972

photo
by: ElizabethK

Review