Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7301 (Boot leg pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 4360 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/04 4:06 PM
Last Updated:3/12/05 11:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Leslie, those look great on you! I love the fabric. They make your legs look even longer than they are, and that's Looooooong!!! :) -Ann
11/22/04 4:41 PM
BjP said...
Very cool pants and so Brady-like! (Thanks for the flashback, teehee.) Interesting that you found them not exactly close-fitting as the pattern sure looks that way. I do think they look worth a try as I like a more fitted leg on my pants - and thanks for the reminder about the fly facing SA. And I sure don't mind a bit of handsewing - makes me feel like I've done some real sewing! Good review!
11/22/04 4:46 PM
Sew Jane said...
Beautiful pants! If more fly front pants are in your future you may want to check out Sandra Betzina's method in her Power Sewing book. Guaranteed to leave your hair in your head, not in your hands. The only stitching visible from the front is the topstitching when using her technique. I also made some contour waist pants recently and used steam-a-seam on the inside to hold the facing in place, then stitched in the ditch on the outside (no hand sewing). HTH - or just tell me to "butt" out. I enjoy all your reviews!
11/22/04 4:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute and fit nicely.
11/22/04 6:15 PM
CarolynGM said...
The pants look great on you; the flare is quite attractive. It always amazes me when someone can make pants from a size 10 pattern without increasing anywhere!!
11/22/04 6:45 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks for the suggestions,Sew Jane! I wanted to use SB's fly front method (which I love too!), but I cut the pieces out without remembering to add on the extra fly front flap SB's method requires. Next time I'll add it on to the pattern piece for sure! These pattern instructions call for the facing to be attached first and then the waistband stitched down on the right side. On the next pair I'll reverse the waistband application so I can to do the stitch in the ditch as you recommended! Thanks again!
11/22/04 6:49 PM
Levone said...
Your pants looks great on you.
11/22/04 8:34 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Hmmmph...I'd try the pattern if the long legs and trim hips came in the package along with the tissue paper. These look fantastic, Leslie. Don't you think it's time you upgraded yourself from Advanced Beginner? Not only is the sewing wonderful; your fitting skills are perfection. Congratulations.
11/22/04 8:49 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oooh, what pretty fabric! Love the nickname. Your legs look so long in the stripes. We gotta see more of these from you! Thanks for the warning on fly SA's. Ugh!
11/22/04 10:17 PM
Jan B. said...
Great review and great looking pants! Thank you.
11/22/04 10:36 PM
SewTabby said...
Waaay groovy Leslie Brady! I picture you as Marsha :)
11/22/04 11:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Leslie, you look fantastic in your new groovy pants. Great job!
11/23/04 0:00 AM
KiwiWendy said...
great news that it's not as close fitting, just what I'm looking for!
11/23/04 0:18 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Looks very good, Leslie! I wish I could get Vogue pants to fit me as well as yours... Are there any pockets on these?
11/23/04 5:21 AM
cindyann said...
Great pants. The fit you so well.
11/23/04 7:55 AM
SouthernStitch said...
These look great on you Leslie, Brady or not. As long as you don't get orange formica in your kitchen now- you're okay. You did a great fitting job.
11/23/04 9:06 AM
Gillian said...
I love those pants. Great job. Aren't you going to wear them with just a string bikini top like the woman in the illustration, though? :)
11/23/04 9:43 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Nope, no pockets on this pattern, Åsa. Tabitha, with all of this rain and humidity we've had this week in Central Texas, I actually look more like Greg Brady during his Afro stage!
11/23/04 10:00 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
I bet you look cute with springy hair. :)
11/24/04 8:10 AM
SandraB said...
Really nice pants Leslie. They fit you well and they look very comfortable. Great retro looking fabric.
11/26/04 8:52 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Leslie, The Brady Bunch was my favorite show -- right after The Partridge Family (I think I still love David Cassidy). Your pants look great, and better than any of those Brady kids!! Very flattering to your figure. I'm with Karla -- wish that came in the envelope too. Great review!
11/30/04 11:20 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
Love the pants, and congratulations on becoming Fashion Fever Leslie.
12/2/04 3:35 PM
els said...
Very fashionable pants great fit and looks smashing on you and even on copycat fashion fever barbie.
12/2/04 4:40 PM
Skymom said...
Well, I know that if dressed like Fashion Fever Barbie, my daughter would think I was da bomb. I think you've done an excellent job of making Fashion Fever pants actually wearable by a sophisticated adult--I love your version and would wear them myself, if I had your long 'n' lean Barbie legs!
12/3/04 8:15 AM
calzone said...
You have a great sense of humor. Thanks for writing a review that's both informative AND fun to read!
12/3/04 8:56 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Fever Fashion is foxy, and you too. :)
12/3/04 9:05 AM
SewTabby said...
You can't argue with Fashion Fever Barbie's fashion sense. She has the pick of the entire couture world, and she chooses your pants. Congratulations :) Barbie (and you) has excellent taste!
12/3/04 10:14 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Really great looking pants, Leslie!! Thanks for the inspiration.
12/3/04 8:05 PM
Kathy Russell said...
i'm looking for a first pair of pants (non-drawstring pj style -have those down) to try as a advanced beginner- would these be the ones to try?
1/1/05 2:03 PM
Kathy Russell said...
i'm looking for a first pair of pant to try as a beginner- would these be the ones to try?
1/1/05 2:05 PM
sewkal said...
Great pants, Leslie. I love the color and the fit. These will be perfect for your European adventure. Great shoes, too!
3/12/05 11:37 AM
Hilary said...
Leslie, these look wonderful! I certainly can't tell the waist is too tight :oP The fit looks great in the pics - thanks for the tips-good idea for the waistband extension!
3/12/05 11:40 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Awesome pants! Very stylish and flattering, they seem to fit you really well. I might have to try this pattern.
3/12/05 1:35 PM
Lisette said...
Your pants are awesome! They have the Ann Taylor look for sure.
3/12/05 5:37 PM
MarilynB said...
Your pants and you look fabulous!
3/13/05 6:08 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I agree with Marilyn. They don't get better than this! PS: My DD recently modeled a pair of pants from Express for my approval (the Editor cut, if you are familiar with their pants) , and I was astounded at how well they fit her. I made a tracing of them and set out to find a commercial pattern that came close in style and draft; this Vogue pattern was the winner. After all my unkind remarks about Big 4 pants drafts, I had to eat my words.....
3/13/05 8:28 AM
Sew Jane said...
FABulous! Looks like you have found Your Pants Pattern. I think it's time to bump your sewing level up to Intermediate.
3/13/05 10:19 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! You are on a roll of excellent sewing. Your pants look so great on you. Congrats!!
3/13/05 6:58 PM
AnneM said...
Great pants. I missed your "fashion fever" link before; very cute.
3/15/05 8:11 PM
esmer said...
Your review has info that i need, because I would like to sew this pattern for my teenage daughter. I live about 15 minutes out of Austin Texas and we our very fashionable out here. I love the way you pant look and they look great on you. Thank you for the info on your review.
5/7/05 0:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2005-112 Twist Top
photo
Review by drsue on 4/27/05
Read Review

Burda 7466 Pattern
Burda 7466 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1364 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1364 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5223 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by 2BSewing on 9/3/08
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us