SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 186 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/12 3:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewpelican said...
Love your jacket. I have some Pendleton skirts packed away as my waist has "grown". Hated to part with them , but now am inspired to make a vest or two. "Serge and topstitch is what P is doing now", is that to reduce amount of fabric they use I wonder? Their SA used to be quite generous.
11/3/12 4:19 PM
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket...I love Black Watch plaid. I've been looking for this pattern for ages. I'm pretty sure Lucy was wearing an original one in the classic rumba scene she did with Ricky when she had eggs in her jacket pockets. Waste of a great jacket.
3/24/12 3:47 AM
21wale said...
Very nice! Such a classic and looks great in the plaid.
3/21/12 6:44 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, SNAP! Finding an identical skirt can only mean it was fated for perfection! Well done!
3/21/12 3:43 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Fantastic jacket - looks perfectly lovely.
3/21/12 2:18 PM
karen n said...
Fabulous job, Mary and it looked great real life too as I got to see it on you at the Expo! The best part? Mary impressed me in that she put this right in her washing machine with Woolite, no dryer (correct me if I'm wrong) and it comes out beautifully!
3/21/12 9:02 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
What luck finding an additional fabric source.. your jacket is fabulous!
3/21/12 8:27 AM
jlg said...
I recognized this as the Pendleton jacket as soon as I saw it. Great job.
3/21/12 8:15 AM
Rhoda K said...
Such a nice jacket and repurpose project! I had a red/gray one when I was in high school and literally wore it out.
3/21/12 7:32 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I love this! great work
3/21/12 6:59 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Beautiful, beautiful. I want one, too! I have a small men's plaid shirt jacket that was handed down to me, but a women's version like yours would be so much better fitting and looking.
3/21/12 6:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice! The 49er looks like an American classic that is not known where I live, but I certainly wish I could have one. I'll have to watch out for a suitable pattern. You have done well to reuse the skirt fabric so successfully, too.
3/21/12 5:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1207

photo
by: ak21

Review
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now