SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M4848 - OOP (suit yourself)

Review submitted in Swimwear Contest Contest
Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpegstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/12 0:00 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Very pretty! Great fabric choice.
4/1/12 3:21 AM
AuntieShel said...
Yes, you certainly will be a fashionable grandma, the suit is so cute and love the fabric you used!!!
4/1/12 9:39 AM
myeclecticmess said...
Super cute and very practical too. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/1/12 10:21 AM
ryan's mom said...
Really cute, Ocean! I love this pattern and the skinny straps. Thanks for the pics on the bra lining. I don't have huge boobs by any means, but they're big enough to warrant cups. I like seeing how others do their bra lining for C cups or larger--very helpful! Thx!
4/1/12 6:18 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thank you all. I had a bobby problem is why I changed the D cup bra by adding the band to lower the elastic to solve that problem. Afterwards, I added the lace to mainly correct the problem of the bottom hem rolling and turning up. That was an afterthought after my swimwear contest entry was submitted.
4/2/12 0:39 AM
Pollycotton said...
Great look
4/2/12 2:22 AM
Oceanpeg said...
One thing about this pattern and the fabric print, both really disguises the body shape on a plus size body on the swim dress. The pattern is OOP (Out Of Print) but still available on the manufacturers website. Just put the number in, M4848, and it will come up. Made a change on the bra insert. I added a seperate band for the elastic on the bottom part of the bra. This pattern gives you a choice of putting in B/C cups or the D/DD cups when making up the simple bra insert. Only 2 pieces to the bra, the ront and the back, with 2 darts in the front. The swimdress also has just 2 pieces, to, the front and the back. The pants consist of 4 pieces, but just 2 pattern parts, the front and back, with right and left sides. The waist band is turned down. No extra pattern piece for the waist band. The bra insert is put in as if it was interfacing. As I said, not very complicated in doing this one up.
4/3/12 4:02 AM
petro said...
Very pretty fabric, and a great choice of style for a more covered up beach look. Thanks for the construction pictures of the inner bra.
4/4/12 6:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
Figgy's Fiona

photo
by: twilltape

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now