Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5525 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 620 times 61 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/2/12 4:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fantastic trench! I have that pattern, maybe I should add it to my Winter sewing list! :)
4/2/12 4:43 AM
newsewer2011 said...
my goodness, that is fantastic, I can only aspire to sew half as well as that :) beautiful job.
4/2/12 5:30 AM
Mel.J said...
WOW! Wonderful job... I'm in awe.
4/2/12 6:41 AM
ReginaLit said...
You inspired me to try this pattern. Well done!
4/2/12 7:23 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Beautiful sewing ! Looks totally upscale. Love it!
4/2/12 7:59 AM
Claverie said...
Oh my gosh, I just learned so much about sewing! Beautiful coat. Absolutely beautiful.
4/2/12 8:43 AM
EleanorSews said...
Truly a labor of love and exquisitely made! Such a beautiful coat, well worth your time and efforts.
4/2/12 8:59 AM
Knitz said...
Very nice!
4/2/12 9:21 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful work and so much nicer than anything you could buy in a store!
4/2/12 9:25 AM
Jrhee said...
Another gorgeous creation!
4/2/12 10:01 AM
RadarRadiance said...
What a beautiful and inspiring work to look at. I am so impressed with your sewing and truly enjoyed reading your review with all of your pictures!
4/2/12 10:31 AM
tsedai said...
Wow! Such a great classic look! The style and color are perfect. Love your lining too!
4/2/12 11:18 AM
MNBarb said...
You really pulled out all of the stops when making this coat. It paid off and resulted in a beautiful, classic garement. I have this pattern and will follow your review if I ever get to it. Thanks for all of the details and photos. They are very helpful.
4/2/12 12:22 PM
Aixoise said...
So beautiful! Your workmanship is impressive. Thanks for the detailed review and photos.
4/2/12 3:13 PM
kjcaron said...
What a beautiful coat!
4/2/12 6:41 PM
velosewer said...
Wow. I have this in my pattern stash too. It's time to make it up. Well done. I think i'll need your advice in finishing the hem at the back vent!
4/2/12 7:21 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Fantastic review. Very helpful! A fantastic coat too! I have GOT to make this pattern. Nice work!
4/2/12 7:22 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Your coat looks amazing. You do beautiful work.
4/3/12 0:28 AM
SusiM said...
Awesome workmanship! Very nice review and pics.
4/3/12 0:59 AM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful!
4/3/12 1:25 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning, the quality of your work is very impressive, just love all the extra bits that you do.
4/3/12 2:07 AM
Scheri said...
Ohhh ahhhhh beautiful
4/3/12 3:58 AM
tess said...
Your tailoring skills are amazing! Your trench is wonderful!
4/3/12 6:10 AM
nancyc said...
Terrific! I love your coat! Nice job!!
4/3/12 6:35 AM
NJcowgirl said...
absolutely stunning. I think you need to change your sewing status from "intermediate" to "advanced".
4/3/12 11:03 AM
marec said...
Not only is your coat fantastic both inside and out, but your review is a mini sewing lesson. I am totally in awe of this project. It is beautiful!
4/3/12 11:28 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I will never, ever know how you did this! Beautiful job and I love the lining too!
4/4/12 11:10 AM
jenleeC said...
Wow, what a fantastic trench! And such an informative review; thank you for taking the time to provide all the sewing detail and construction photographs. I have saved this one to my favourites!
4/10/12 1:24 AM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful coat! I love the lining and the piping detail you added to the inside. I have this pattern as well and hope to make it up as nicely as you did. Really, wonderful and admirable work you have done.
5/4/12 2:53 PM
MareeAlison said...
This is a fantastic coat. Thanks for the great review.
5/29/12 2:46 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Spectacular trench and a great review. Thank you so much! I am going to try this pattern and incorporate some of your touches. Obviously it pays to take the time to spend on the inner workings of the coat as this looks better than anything I've seen in RTW (under $1000). Lovely!
6/19/12 2:20 PM
gernella said...
Never seen such perfect topstitching. Great job. I've done a summer version with the offset collar but I'm tempted to try another version, bit longer and in a warmer fabric for winter. It's amazing how many different looks you can get.
7/4/12 12:19 PM
sdp said...
Wow, I'm so glad I found this totally informative detailed review before I attempted this trench coat. If mine looks 75% as beautiful as yours, I will be totally pleased.
8/14/12 1:12 PM
Merche said...
I am starting to work with this pattern and I Have to tell you, I just hope mine turn out half as good as yours! Yours is amazing!
4/27/13 6:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us