Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8997 (vintage 1940s) (Nightgown) - Type:Sleepwear
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 238 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 5:35 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
And it's pretty, feminine, elegant AND sexy ;D
4/15/12 7:44 AM
petro said...
Very pretty. I have a 1940's nightie pattern too, perhaps I'll dig it out and try it now. For the curved neck/ribbon issue - what about putting elastic with ribbon sewn at the ends of it, so the elastic does the work, and you still get a ribbon to tie?
4/15/12 8:01 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Lovely nightgown, Margaret. And it looks comfortable to wear as well.
4/15/12 9:44 AM
Renren said...
So light and airy . . . and pure and innocent. Very nice vintage nightgown and then as a bonus another great review from the great Margaret!
4/15/12 11:46 AM
jenleeC said...
Lovely nightgown and great review, thanks.
4/15/12 9:01 PM
velosewer said...
I like the off centre bow too.
4/15/12 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! Petro, that is one of the things I was thinking of doing. I'm not sure if 3/4" elastic might still try to curl in the neckline, so I may have to do a double casing with narrower elastic, so that I can make the elastic closer to the edge shorter. But either way, I'd keep the bow (even just tacking one on top if I have to). Have fun with your pattern!
4/16/12 6:14 AM
cindyann said...
I just love vintage nightgowns and yours looks so pretty. I'm sure it will be most comfortable to wear.
4/16/12 10:01 AM
jannw said...
How pretty!! and another great review with lots of info!
4/16/12 9:30 PM
loti said...
So lightweight a wisp of a nightie, very pretty, and romantic.
4/17/12 1:35 PM
StudioCherie said...
Great review. Thanks for being so thorough.
4/23/12 11:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely! That pattern would work well in a dainty print like a Liberty lawn, and it could also work as a peasant-style top or dress if you felt so inclined.
4/24/12 8:08 AM
droxy said...
That is a very pretty pattern!
4/24/12 2:01 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Wow Margaret, this is beautiful! I woud not change a thing on it! Can yu tell me how to get a hold of this pattern (if this is possible?) Great work!
4/28/12 1:03 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks again for all your kind comments! FreyaStark, yes, a Liberty lawn would be great! valkyrie01, I sent you a PM.
4/29/12 5:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 5306
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/12/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5603
photo
Review by Julia Bobb... on 3/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5872 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5872 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us