SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 3246-1000 (leather shoulder bag)

Viewed 1366 times 
Reviewed by:els
photo

 
 
About elsstarstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/04 2:50 PM
Last Updated:12/2/04 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ShannonO said...
that is a great bag!! I am just getting into bags/purses, and I am not a fan of the patterns I have seen, so I like the fact that you just created your own. Plus, changing the grain/pattern of the leather definitely adds to the overall style.
1/27/09 9:31 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wow! That is an incredibly impressive piece of work! I LOVE that bag!
1/27/05 12:36 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, really like the handbag. I have never sewn with leather either. Very nice first try project with leather. Can you share sources for the hansel?
12/4/04 7:38 AM
Snowblossom said...
What a fantastic bag, its gorgeous and so professional.
12/3/04 6:32 PM
Deepika said...
This is unbelievable Els. What a great bag.
12/3/04 5:28 PM
Maychi said...
Great bag. I love it! Very impressive!
12/3/04 4:48 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Your bag looks great - very, very professional.
12/3/04 3:33 PM
els said...
Katharine I used a teflon foot to sew the leather.A normal sewing foot did not worked in transporting the leather.
12/3/04 3:04 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Els, you bag is amazing. Good to see that you get time to sew for yourself once in a while! Thanks for all the different pictures and information.
12/3/04 12:59 PM
SandraB said...
Wow!! What a gorgeous bag. It looks beautifully sewn. I am so impressed that you did this.
12/3/04 10:34 AM
SewTabby said...
Wow els!! Your bag is wonderful! It looks great, but also looks like it's very practical, too. Beautiful!
12/3/04 10:17 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Beautiful work, Els! Did you need a different presser foot to sew leather? (Oh and BTW, I'm so excited to see your pattern reviews/work too. :)
12/3/04 9:00 AM
PhyllisC said...
Love it! Very 70's.
12/3/04 8:34 AM
AnneM said...
What a great bag! Thanks for sharing the ideas & information you used.
12/3/04 6:34 AM
els said...
Hello ladies, thank you all for the enthusiastic comments on my shoulder bag. I had no idea that reviewing a self drafted pattern would receive so many comments because I thought it was not interesting enough because there is no pattern involved, Linda E talked me into reviewing a self drafted item so thanks Linda E . It was a fun project but a tough one because without directions it is much harder to do than any garment I made in the last years. The reason is that sewing with leather you have to follow other sewing directions because the leather demands a different attitude.Thanks to my friend and colleague Neeltje who gave me some inside tips on how to handle and sew leather. I hope I win the lottery sometime so I can purchase a sturdy Juki sewing machine which will sew leather as easy as sewing fabric on my Pfaff. Ann and Georgene thanks for the Goatskin and suede tip. Cornelia, there are some wayward stitches but not that many.
12/3/04 3:37 AM
valerie sews said...
A trully professional looking bag. I'm amazed at your work.
12/3/04 2:28 AM
ChrisK said...
I join the others in showering you with praise - that is a wonderful bag.
12/3/04 1:31 AM
mClones said...
Great looking bags els. FYI: when I cut leather for shoes I make the pattern out of file folder weight cardboard/paper, simply lay it on the leather and trace around with a pencil or pen. Also, if you need to temporarily hold two pieces of leather together, you can use rubber cement as a basting medium.
12/2/04 7:27 PM
Annika said...
Another stunning bag! I love the "almost ostrich" leather look - and the way you mixed up the grain of the leather - fantastic!
12/2/04 7:14 PM
joan said...
Els, Another great leather bag! When I get ready to sew a leather bag, I will certainly use your reviews for reference. I admire your work so much-keep it up!
12/2/04 7:04 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the info on materials you used for the bag, very helpful! Goatskin and suede are much more sew-able, but not as sturdy as this bag looks.
12/2/04 6:37 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Els, you are amazing. That bag is a masterpiece.
12/2/04 6:34 PM
Linda E. said...
wow - that is a great bag. You do such beautiful work. Thanks for writting the review it is a good review..
12/2/04 6:31 PM
Cornelia said...
I'm speechless! If there's one wayward stitch anywhere, it's well hidden. Beautiful job.
12/2/04 6:18 PM
MaryBeth said...
This is one great bag, els! Thanks for doing the review.
12/2/04 6:13 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Very good Els, Very good ! I like !!
12/2/04 5:40 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Els, this is such a great bag! If you get a chance to work with it, try goatskin. It tends to be a firmer leather, but it is light enough to sew through. I have some hides that I have worked with that have been a pleasure to sew with. -Ann
12/2/04 5:22 PM
ConnieBJ said...
So impressive Els, and sounds like a lot of work! I love it.
12/2/04 5:20 PM
LisaLS said...
That's such a nice bag! I love all the pockets it has.
12/2/04 5:14 PM
SueV said...
Wow - great job - Impressive!!! Wow!!
12/2/04 5:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Contest Pantone Color Contest

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

More Info