Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 3246-1000 (leather shoulder bag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1365 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:els
photo
About elsstarstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/04 2:50 PM
Last Updated:12/2/04 4:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SueV said...
Wow - great job - Impressive!!! Wow!!
12/2/04 5:12 PM
LisaLS said...
That's such a nice bag! I love all the pockets it has.
12/2/04 5:14 PM
ConnieBJ said...
So impressive Els, and sounds like a lot of work! I love it.
12/2/04 5:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Els, this is such a great bag! If you get a chance to work with it, try goatskin. It tends to be a firmer leather, but it is light enough to sew through. I have some hides that I have worked with that have been a pleasure to sew with. -Ann
12/2/04 5:22 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Very good Els, Very good ! I like !!
12/2/04 5:40 PM
MaryBeth said...
This is one great bag, els! Thanks for doing the review.
12/2/04 6:13 PM
Cornelia said...
I'm speechless! If there's one wayward stitch anywhere, it's well hidden. Beautiful job.
12/2/04 6:18 PM
Linda E. said...
wow - that is a great bag. You do such beautiful work. Thanks for writting the review it is a good review..
12/2/04 6:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Els, you are amazing. That bag is a masterpiece.
12/2/04 6:34 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the info on materials you used for the bag, very helpful! Goatskin and suede are much more sew-able, but not as sturdy as this bag looks.
12/2/04 6:37 PM
joan said...
Els, Another great leather bag! When I get ready to sew a leather bag, I will certainly use your reviews for reference. I admire your work so much-keep it up!
12/2/04 7:04 PM
Annika said...
Another stunning bag! I love the "almost ostrich" leather look - and the way you mixed up the grain of the leather - fantastic!
12/2/04 7:14 PM
mClones said...
Great looking bags els. FYI: when I cut leather for shoes I make the pattern out of file folder weight cardboard/paper, simply lay it on the leather and trace around with a pencil or pen. Also, if you need to temporarily hold two pieces of leather together, you can use rubber cement as a basting medium.
12/2/04 7:27 PM
ChrisK said...
I join the others in showering you with praise - that is a wonderful bag.
12/3/04 1:31 AM
valerie sews said...
A trully professional looking bag. I'm amazed at your work.
12/3/04 2:28 AM
els said...
Hello ladies, thank you all for the enthusiastic comments on my shoulder bag. I had no idea that reviewing a self drafted pattern would receive so many comments because I thought it was not interesting enough because there is no pattern involved, Linda E talked me into reviewing a self drafted item so thanks Linda E . It was a fun project but a tough one because without directions it is much harder to do than any garment I made in the last years. The reason is that sewing with leather you have to follow other sewing directions because the leather demands a different attitude.Thanks to my friend and colleague Neeltje who gave me some inside tips on how to handle and sew leather. I hope I win the lottery sometime so I can purchase a sturdy Juki sewing machine which will sew leather as easy as sewing fabric on my Pfaff. Ann and Georgene thanks for the Goatskin and suede tip. Cornelia, there are some wayward stitches but not that many.
12/3/04 3:37 AM
AnneM said...
What a great bag! Thanks for sharing the ideas & information you used.
12/3/04 6:34 AM
PhyllisC said...
Love it! Very 70's.
12/3/04 8:34 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Beautiful work, Els! Did you need a different presser foot to sew leather? (Oh and BTW, I'm so excited to see your pattern reviews/work too. :)
12/3/04 9:00 AM
SewTabby said...
Wow els!! Your bag is wonderful! It looks great, but also looks like it's very practical, too. Beautiful!
12/3/04 10:17 AM
SandraB said...
Wow!! What a gorgeous bag. It looks beautifully sewn. I am so impressed that you did this.
12/3/04 10:34 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Els, you bag is amazing. Good to see that you get time to sew for yourself once in a while! Thanks for all the different pictures and information.
12/3/04 12:59 PM
els said...
Katharine I used a teflon foot to sew the leather.A normal sewing foot did not worked in transporting the leather.
12/3/04 3:04 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Your bag looks great - very, very professional.
12/3/04 3:33 PM
Maychi said...
Great bag. I love it! Very impressive!
12/3/04 4:48 PM
Deepika said...
This is unbelievable Els. What a great bag.
12/3/04 5:28 PM
Snowblossom said...
What a fantastic bag, its gorgeous and so professional.
12/3/04 6:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, really like the handbag. I have never sewn with leather either. Very nice first try project with leather. Can you share sources for the hansel?
12/4/04 7:38 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wow! That is an incredibly impressive piece of work! I LOVE that bag!
1/27/05 12:36 PM
ShannonO said...
that is a great bag!! I am just getting into bags/purses, and I am not a fan of the patterns I have seen, so I like the fact that you just created your own. Plus, changing the grain/pattern of the leather definitely adds to the overall style.
1/27/09 9:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 5838
photo
Review by rubbecca on 7/29/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by elily00 on 11/30/09
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us