Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vintage Fashion Library: 2528 (Dress circa 1940) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 447 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ChantillyDreams
photo
Friend of PR
About ChantillyDreams
NY USA
Member since: 11/26/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 3:31 PM
Last Updated:4/16/12 9:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kuby said...
This looks adorable on you. I love the sleeves.
4/15/12 3:37 PM
zoe said...
Beautiful! I hope to try a vintage pattern one day soon myself.
4/15/12 3:57 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks wonderful on your and I, like you, think black and white is classic.
4/15/12 5:45 PM
RadarRadiance said...
You did a fantastic job on this dress, very pretty and classy.
4/15/12 7:55 PM
velosewer said...
Very vintage.
4/15/12 8:16 PM
magpie57 said...
A wonderful dress. Very informative review and blog. I guess most women sewed than so there was not the need for every little detail on the instruction sheet. Your dress looks very flattering on you. and your shoes are to die for!!!
4/15/12 8:33 PM
Hilary said...
What a pretty dress, and it looks so cute on you!
4/15/12 9:24 PM
jenleeC said...
Great dress! Those waisted 1940's styles are so flattering for those of us with waists and hips!
4/15/12 9:35 PM
petro said...
So elegant§ It looks great on you.
4/16/12 1:49 AM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous dress! I like your version even more than the pattern one.
4/16/12 5:09 AM
LDT2011 said...
What a lovely dress. I like the monochrome look...gives it a stylish twist.
4/16/12 6:44 AM
Jill Giard said...
Beautiful!
4/16/12 10:21 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful
4/16/12 1:31 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
The flattering black panels that nip in the waist, the collars, the shoes and picture framing, the belt...everything so well thought out in this outfit and presentation... those pin tucks are truly awesome.
4/16/12 10:31 PM
momsurfing said...
stunning
4/16/12 11:13 PM
ChantillyDreams said...
Thanks for all of your kind words. I had so much fun making it, and your encouragement makes it all the better!
4/17/12 9:22 AM
Aroura said...
Very classy!! love it.
4/17/12 6:24 PM
facesunderwater said...
Beautiful vintage dress.
4/18/12 10:46 AM
StudioCherie said...
Wonderful review. Fabulous dress! I know just the bag to go with it. I hope you enjoy the vintage style frame bag pattern I am sending you. Congratulations.
4/20/12 3:13 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you -- wonderful fabric combo!
4/22/12 7:14 PM
Betty Stitchup said...
What a stunning dress - you've done a fabulous job, I love the choice of fabric, and all the little details. Good luck with the competition - you've got my vote!
4/24/12 11:58 PM
ChantillyDreams said...
I really appreciate the feedback. I don't personally know any garment sewers, so your encouragement means a lot!
4/25/12 8:59 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Love this!
4/26/12 1:00 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, what a nice style. Your dress came out very well.
6/5/12 8:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 509-1016
photo
Review by Miss Fairc... on 4/9/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 03-2011-106 Pants
photo
Review by treefrog on 2/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6450 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6450 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us