SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Self drafted pattern (Self drafted one shoulder tank)

1 more reviews
Viewed 81 times 
Reviewed by:AlexaNJ
photo

 
 
About AlexaNJstar
Member since: 4/10/07
Reviews: 35 (patterns: 35)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/12 11:07 AM
Last Updated:2/6/16 9:41 PM
Project Photo:
Pattern Photo: No Pattern Used Pattern Info

More Info provided by AlexaNJ

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Type:Tops
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: I drafted a one shouldered tank top for myself

Fabric Used: Eyelet cotton trim, white cotton body, synthetic lining that I had in my stash

Conclusion: Years ago (we're talking like 2002), I found a woman on ebay selling a large portion of her closet in order to lead a more "simple life." One of the items was a one shouldered, white tank with eyelet trim. At that time, I was not sewing often, but knew I would be able to remake the blouse. I bought the material and it just sat in my closet for years.

Then, around 2007, I drafted the pattern, and sewed the lining and the exterior, but did not finish the top. I had since lost the picture from ebay (switched computers and didn't know where the electronic file was located, lost the print out I had done, etc). I made good progress, but life just happened and I put it back in my craft closet.

I originally wanted to do lacing up the sides, but during a trip to Mood and other fabric stores in the summer of 2010 (for buying fabric and notions for OTHER projects), I bought nice white buttons to use instead.

A few weeks ago, I just felt the NEED to finish this top. And, I did it!

Sadly, at this point (4.16.12) the only photo I have of it is while it is still unfinished and on the mannequin (but I wanted to make a page for it here on Pattern Review, or that wouldn't have happened for a for more years knowing my track record!)

I added darts to the blouse, and there is facing on the one armhole. Since white cotton can be see through, the entire blouse is lined with some white lining fabric I had in my stash. The bottom hem is (now) machine stitched, and there are six white buttons up the left side that close with elastic loops.

I really don't remember if it looks similar to the original ebay blouse at this point, but I don't even care. I'm just proud of myself for liking a shirt, and making my own version!

(I'll post pictures of me wearing the blouse asap!!)

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew


Quality Fashion Fabrics
Deals!

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
khurtdvm said... (4/17/12 11:18 PM) Reply
Looks really cute!
ImListening said... (4/17/12 6:01 PM) Reply
Very nice. I wonder if you've been bitten by the pattern making bug. This top turned out beautifully.
TJSEWS said... (4/16/12 3:40 PM) Reply
It's so pretty and feminine. Lovely!
Sweetsong said... (4/16/12 12:02 PM) Reply
That's a very sweet top; love the ruffle along the shoulder/front.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2005-101B

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Classic T-Shirt Dress

Pamela's Patterns Classic T-Shirt Dress

Pattern Details