Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1247 (Rachel Comey Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Best of Patterns Contest    printable version
Viewed 1888 times 96 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR
About jenleeCstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:5/6/12 6:41 AM
Last Updated:5/6/12 9:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
This is just so lovely! Much nicer than the pattern envelope. The seamlines are highlighted beautifully by using the sheer fabric, so all your hard work was worth it!
5/6/12 7:25 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Such a pretty top! You did such a great job sewing those seams in such a slippery fabric.
5/6/12 7:50 AM
Dilliander said...
Both your tops are lovely. Definitely worth the effort you put in with the slippery silk fabrics.
5/6/12 8:00 AM
sandramary said...
Love the white version, I have never noticed the seaming detail in this pattern and your fabric is the perfect choice!
5/6/12 8:25 AM
Living Beauty said...
Beautiful!
5/6/12 8:51 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
5/6/12 8:58 AM
marec said...
This is perfection. I love both tops and can see your attention to detail in all the work. Very, very nice.
5/6/12 10:26 AM
twinkle72 said...
This looks just great on you! Now I want one:-)
5/6/12 11:36 AM
SewWil said...
Both tops are so different but very pretty. Great job working with slippery fabrics.
5/6/12 11:46 AM
Twinset said...
I like that a lot. Very elegant in white crepe de chine.
5/6/12 12:36 PM
mangoflavor said...
I love your fabric choice. Great review!
5/6/12 5:20 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous! I love it in the sheer white. I never noticed the detail on this top until now...thanks for a thorough and informative review!
5/6/12 7:09 PM
sfshaza said...
This looks fabulous on you!
5/6/12 10:03 PM
ggf2005 said...
cute....i love that you let the seam lines give this top its definition rather than using a busy print.
5/6/12 10:10 PM
tryinghard said...
Just lovely!
5/6/12 10:31 PM
lesliez said...
The fit on this version is perfect! You did a beautiful job. Just gorgeous!
5/7/12 2:06 AM
cocosloft said...
So so pretty and classy.
5/7/12 3:18 AM
Sigrid. said...
wow, I really love your version. I never considered the pattern but now I have put it on the wishlist. The sheer fabric really does highlight the special details of the seamlines. Great work and great review.
5/7/12 3:30 AM
Renata said...
This is the best version of this top yet. Worth all the PITA moments.
5/7/12 4:43 AM
FreyaStark said...
A great top; stylish, distinctive and elegant yet casual, too. To make a slippery fabric more manageable when cutting out and sewing, try spraying it with spray starch (enough to dampen it but not saturate it), then iron it. You might need to repeat the treatment later while sewing as the effect wears off with handling.
5/7/12 5:43 AM
VivianZ said...
I love the white. Beautiful job. I was planning to make it in white linen, so nice to see it done up. Beautiful top!
5/7/12 6:10 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is a beautiful top and a very helpful review! Thanks!
5/7/12 6:47 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty top...it looks lovely on you!
5/7/12 7:37 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, your shirt looks wonderful!
5/7/12 8:10 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Gorgeous!
5/7/12 8:41 AM
Catbird said...
Fantastic top! I would wear that in a second; it looks like my kind of thing. How silly of Vogue to not use a solid color to show off that interesting seaming! It looks outstanding on you and I love it with that gorgeous necklace. Perfect!
5/7/12 9:11 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Very pretty top...looks lovely on you.
5/7/12 9:21 AM
luckeyone said...
What a great top. I love the white and thanks for the details.
5/7/12 10:58 AM
MNBarb said...
You may have just caused a selling spree of this pattern. What a lovely, breezy, loose fitting-but not shapeless top. Just looking at the fabric scares me. You were brave and extremely successful with this selection. I love it with the dangly necklace. I want one!
5/7/12 11:07 AM
Nenewhis said...
The perfect fabric choice on this top showcases this unique pattern! Well done!
5/7/12 11:28 AM
KIOD said...
Really Lovely!!!!
5/7/12 1:45 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous top and love the way you have featured the front seams.
5/7/12 9:30 PM
Sar sews said...
What a lovely top you have produced, a great recommendation for this pattern. I will have to revisit it!!
5/8/12 7:28 AM
SquishSews said...
Wow, this is beautiful! Way out of my skill level, but the type of item I aspire to.
5/16/12 2:48 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks ladies for all the lovely comments! The necklace was a present from DH for a recent 'big' birthday so I was pleased to find it suits this top very well. Freya, thanks for the tip about spray starch.
5/19/12 11:11 PM
tiadia said...
Lovely! Congratulations on winning the contest.
6/16/12 10:31 AM
mkhpaintsew said...
Such a beautiful top! I have never given this top a second glance, but the seaming detail is so pretty.
6/19/12 9:11 AM
poppykettle said...
This is Gorgeous! I really love lines of this top and you pull it off so elegantly. Congrats on winning!
6/21/12 2:09 AM
TJSEWS said...
Gorgeous, just gorgeous! I have this pattern and you have inspired me to give it a try.
7/10/12 4:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 2584
photo
Review by SewSho on 3/8/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Hollywood 910
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 8/4/10
Read Review

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8976 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8976 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7075 Pattern
Burda 7075 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us