SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1256 (Misses' Dress)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 865 times 
Reviewed by:Fictionfan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Fictionfanstar
VT USA
Member since: 5/19/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/12 3:37 AM
Last Updated:6/5/12 7:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature\\'s Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Klarisabet said...
Thank you for a WONDERFUL review. I bought this pattern in February this year, after I had not sewn anything for more than a decade...and I missed a crucial detail...Moderate Stretch Knits Only. So I sewed it in a woven silky fabric. And when the sleeves turned out looking like something Evil Knievel would wear, I read the back of the pattern carefully and realized...ooooops! Anyway, I completed the dress for my daughter, sleeveless, but it did not quite fit in the end. So I filed it away for a few months. I have just taken it out and unpicked part of the bodice to adjust the shoulder seams to pull it up so it is not so low cut. Will also sew some darts in the back. Then the dress should fit perfectly even though it was sewn in the wrong fabric. I want to attempt it again, in the right material, and will certainly use your review alongside the pattern instructions!
10/13/14 2:47 PM
Marge99 said...
Lovely!
9/14/12 9:59 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Such a gorgeous dress! Thank you for the detailed review of the dress. You look great in it!
6/18/12 10:04 AM
Nancy K said...
It's lovely on you. I will tell you that my dd has a Diane Von Furstenberg silk jersey wrap dress and this is how it is finished. However, the hem is folded under and then they used a blind hem machine to sew the hem. The nearest equivalent for home sewers is a hand hem and yours is gorgeous. I have the same complaints about Vogue's knit instructions. Great review and it looks just as good on your older, curvy figure as on the size 2 model. I will put this on my wish list. Your husbands comment is priceless!
6/9/12 10:25 AM
sewmaris said...
REALLY pretty on you, and love the awesome details in your review. Thanks for all the time you put into - you inspired me! Sew Maris
6/6/12 11:43 AM
SusiM said...
Super WOW! Beautiful dress in fit and fashion and the BEST review I have ever read. Thank you so very much for all the useful detail you have shared here.
6/5/12 10:16 PM
MissLadyAudrey said...
Very detailed review and very lovely dress!
6/5/12 8:41 PM
Fictionfan said...
oops. I meant to publish this edit as a minor update, not push this to the top. I forgot to check the little box. :(
6/5/12 7:54 PM
Fictionfan said...
Thanks so much for the comments everyone! It just dawned on me now that since I eliminated the zipper, I should have cut the back pieces on the fold! (smacks forehead) Next time...
6/5/12 7:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. Your husband's comment is pricelesss, and I love the fabric. You are brave indeed to tackle a silk jersey; I would expect it to be very hard to handle.
6/5/12 3:23 AM
SquishSews said...
What a lovely dress, Fictionfan! And it's awesome that hubby recognizes how good you look in it... :-)
6/5/12 0:24 AM
petro said...
Lovely dress, its good to see a diferrent take on the wrap over.
6/3/12 3:00 AM
cleverkitty said...
you look fabulous in this dress very sexy and the fit makes anyone want to look like you. Beautiful print and color. Your going to turn heads more then just your husbands at the reunion.
6/1/12 8:26 AM
wendyrb said...
Isn't it great that you created such a perfect dress for yourself despite some initial misgivings! It is really flattering. All the extra thought and attention to details makes the dress look very high end. Thank you for putting that same attention into your review. I learned a lot and it was very reassuring about my own process for a similar mock-wrap dress. To fit my full busted figure, I came up against a number of the same concerns. The way you fashioned the waist bling is utterly inspiring. Have fun at the reunion and be prepared for lots of flirting.
6/1/12 1:05 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress, you look so lovely. And what a terrific helpful informative review ! Enjoy your beautiful dress!
5/31/12 4:15 PM
VogueMistress said...
How lovely! I especially like the "Jewelry".
5/31/12 10:37 AM
ghostly said...
You looking stunning in your gorgeous dress! You're right when you say the extra work was worthwhile as your dress is definitely extra special. The appliqué is different and truly wonderful. Bravo! on a job well done. You will Wow! them at your reunion.
5/31/12 10:28 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a great review!! LOVE your bead/button work ;D
5/31/12 10:27 AM
MNBarb said...
This is probably the most detailed review ever! I love the comment about your husband, just like a guy to only notice what is underneath the clothing. The silk knit is the perfect choice for this dress and looks very nice on you. You're wrong, I think you could be a model. You will wow your classmates at the reunion!
5/31/12 7:20 AM
halleyscomet said...
Gorgeous dress! Great review!
5/31/12 7:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

More Info