SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5391 (Misses Shorts)

29 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyW
photo

 
 
About BeckyWstar
AL USA
Member since: 5/23/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/12 1:08 PM
Last Updated:6/27/12 2:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hme75 said...
What a timely review! I plan to make myself shorts with this pattern very soon. Yours are the exact fit I'm looking for.
5/7/12 2:25 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Really cute!! I agree with you that the finished product looks very RTW. Thanks for the review!
5/7/12 6:21 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very cute!
5/7/12 7:40 PM
rebelina said...
Those are really cute! I also love this pattern, so handy for summer.
5/8/12 2:50 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I love the front of these on you, perfect fit. For the back waistband "Threads" as a great technique that I think would work perfect on just the back of the shorts waistband: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4244/everyone-can-have-jeans-that-fit I really think the fabric is cute too!
6/4/12 4:34 PM
Red Curtain said...
First I adore the fabric you chose. Thank you for showing how you attempted to alter them and explaining the fitting issues.
6/4/12 4:50 PM
Claverie said...
These look great. I love the pattern, too. I think it's been a common complaint about the depth of the crotch. My problem was that the short shorts were a tad too short and the pockets showed past hem when I sat down. Your shorts look very trendy in a vintage sort of way ;)
6/4/12 5:19 PM
cleverkitty said...
Good for you not giving up, you will end up with perfect shorts sometimes it takes many attempts. Very Good review!
6/4/12 5:37 PM
margk said...
I love this fabric for shorts! Yours look great front and back. Hope you can fix the gap.
6/4/12 5:55 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent, thorough review -- and fab shorts! :)
6/4/12 8:13 PM
MissCelie said...
Oh, that's too bad you had some fit problems. They look AWESOME. Shorts are my life's goal :)
6/6/12 10:45 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
SOOOOO cute and beautifully made! Thanks for the great review! I would love to make this a TNT for my daughter.
6/27/12 2:27 PM
MNBarb said...
You have achieved perfection in the fitting department. Celebrate!
6/27/12 2:51 PM
Merche said...
Great fitting! I specially love the print and the colours. Thank you for the thorough review
6/27/12 7:23 PM
khurtdvm said...
Your final shorts version looks great!
6/27/12 10:03 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
Super cute shorts love your prints
6/27/12 10:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now