SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Now and Zen Shirts 

2 more reviews
Viewed 322 times 
Reviewed by:2 Airedales n Me
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2 Airedales n Mestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/24/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/12 1:14 AM
Last Updated:5/21/12 0:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
That is a beautiful shirt and your review contains so many helpful tips. Thanks!
5/20/12 1:21 AM
marthamyers said...
Great choice of fabric for this wonderful shirt. I have the pattern tissue ready for this shirt and yours is wonderful inspiration.
5/20/12 8:21 AM
m/m said...
Lovely and perfect fabric for this shirt. I've made it using Louise Cutting's one piece collar that eliminates all of the bulk at the front edges of the collar and it works very well for this shirt - her method would be a big help with heavier fabric. I'm not sure where there are directions for doing the conversion to the single center back seam in the collar though.
5/20/12 9:38 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great shirt! I love the fabric choice. Great review with all the great tips. Would love to see how it looks on you.
5/20/12 10:53 AM
Renren said...
Yes, thanks for the review. I especially appreciate the description of narrowing and trueing the sleeves. Very pretty top.
5/20/12 9:55 PM
Renren said...
Yes, thanks for the review. I especially appreciate the description of narrowing and trueing the sleeves. Very pretty top.
5/20/12 9:55 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Thank you all very much. The suggestion to use Louise Cutting's collar adjustment is perfect. I actually had planned to do that but then didn't. :( Turned out okay but might have saved myself some grief. Louise's technique is in one of her spiral-bound booklets "Expert Tips & Techniques For Fine Sewing - Collection II". Nancy Zieman has also taught this technique. BTW I did use Louise's "beautiful buttonhole" technique on this top. It's also in one of her booklets but I noticed she put the tip in one of her patterns recently too.
5/21/12 0:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice! Really like your fabric.
5/21/12 5:28 AM
Karine said...
Such a cute top! The fabric is perfect. I've seen Linda Lee from The Sewing Workshop layer this top with the Now top which is also a great look.
5/21/12 10:44 AM
Barbara V said...
Gorgeous shirt and fabric. Lovely work!
5/21/12 1:59 PM
sherri930 said...
Love, love the fabric. I have not seen this - very helpful review. Believe I'll add this to my to do list.
5/21/12 7:32 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Karine, did Linda Lee wear the shorter top (Now) over the longer one (Zen)? I'll bet that is a cute look. Thanks.
5/21/12 11:05 PM
mm said...
Great fabric and a great pattern.
5/22/12 8:21 PM
liliv said...
Very pretty shirt, you picked the best fabric for it!
5/22/13 12:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Butterick 5504

photo
by: valerie se...

Review