SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2012-104 (Satin Pencil Skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:rabitgrl
photo

 
 
About rabitgrlstar
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews: 26 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 3:40 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Levone said... (5/27/12 6:32 PM) Reply
Cute skirt! This skirt is on my list to sew as well so your review has been very helpful.
rabitgrl said... (5/24/12 10:34 PM) Reply
Thanks Sue, you seem to know what you are talking about on the fit issue. I am not very good at identifying the root of fitting problems, so I appreciate your insight :o)
Sewiing Sue said... (5/24/12 9:27 PM) Reply
The fitting issue might be attributed to more fullness in the area than needed. You might have to decrease horizontally and vertically, making sure your hemline is even.This si usually a problem resulting from flat buttocks because the skirt collapses when not supported by the body. I recognize that this might not be the answer you need (or want). I like the skirt and love the cat.
rabitgrl said... (5/24/12 4:06 PM) Reply
Mich23 I think it is a skirt worth trying. I hope my review did not dissuade you. I really have very little experience with pencil skirt making and wearing, but I think this one fits as it is meant to. However, going down a size might assure a more snug fit.
Mich23 said... (5/24/12 4:02 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. Been planning to make this for a while, and this has given me a couple of things to think about - namely elastic and fit! Hmm... Seem to be a fair few pencil skirt patterns in BurdaStyle this year tho, so lots to choose from.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beyond the BoatNeck
Beyond the BoatNeck

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-126

photo
by: Julietta82

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Butterick 5559

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review