SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5581 (Men's, boys' shirt shorts hat)

46 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 151 times 
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:5/24/12 7:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Hmm, look good for all the trouble you had. Glad you brought the lack of a waistband to my attention. Most people who have sewn this have reviewed the shirt and been happy, but I do see the problem for men with the turned and faced waist (no waistband). The Kwik Sew shorts I have for men all have a separate waistband and normal pockets (they don't narrow down like these do). Looks like a good 1st effort and I'm sure your mods will make dh happier with the next pair.
5/24/12 9:15 PM
sewtofit said...
It is nice for you to rejoin the fold..(the sewing fold that is). The pants look good. But you will soon find that the RTW versions of mens pants is a little more involved. I would suggest a David Coffin book on trousers or tailoring if you really want to do the "right" treatments for mens pants. Good luck and welcome back.
5/24/12 11:26 PM
Margaret said...
These look good and I hope the further modifications work out well too. The zippers definitely get easier with practice.
5/25/12 4:41 AM
RLL said...
These look good and I know what you mean about the waist. I made them a couple years ago for my hubby and they look good but he does not wear them much because of the lack of waistband. Keep working on the zippers, as Margaret said, it does get easier and just take your time.
5/25/12 8:19 AM
HDWen said...
Thank you all. KwikSew pattern ok, YES a book on trousers would be great too - and just learning patience and keep on trucking, errr sewing :-)
5/25/12 2:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Stretch & Sew 2045

photo
by: catalak

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now