SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6503 (Misses' Dresses)

34 more reviews
Viewed 566 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/12 8:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
Looks really cute, not sure if that's any consulation. I understand your frustrations, last one I made for me (Simplicity 1803) was just disappointing. Nothing really *wrong* just didn't love it on me
5/26/12 9:38 PM
Aroura said...
Your fabric is so lovely, and you put in so much work, I am really sorry it didn't turn out as you had hoped. i can see what you mean about the bodice design. If the fabric wasnt such a pain to work with, I might suggest repurposing it. Helpful review though, thank you.
5/26/12 10:49 PM
heathergwo said...
I'm sorry you had such trouble with this. Having said that, it looks pretty good to me! I hope you can still enjoy wearing it after all the work you put into it. And yes... I've cut through too many pieces of fabri at least a few times... it's at that exact moment when you wish you could back up just a second or two!!!
5/27/12 0:21 AM
morzel said...
I think this is a cute dress! Maybe you learn to love it after a few weeks of letting the frustration settle!
5/27/12 9:33 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I love it! You're right, that if you were a bit heavier, it would be more flattering. On me, for example, that would be lovely. ;)
5/27/12 11:19 AM
Renren said...
I think it is exquisite and it shows the attention to detail and perfect technique I associate with your sewing. But when you hit too many glitches in one project, it kind of takes the glow off everything--at least initially. And I know that sick, sinking, deflating feeling of scissors cutting through to the wrong layer of fabric!!!
5/27/12 12:14 PM
zoe said...
Well, the dress and your fabric look lovely. You certainly ran into frustrations though. I loved this pattern myself and am now beginning a second version ( although I did have to do multiple bodice changes and alterations on the muslin first); but I know how you feel; I made a Simplicity dress recently that , for me, was a disaster, and I also hated the bodice styling; but so many others had a great experience with it. Maybe you can reuse some of your fabric though; it really is so nice.
5/27/12 12:40 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks all of you:-) You are all beyond encouraging!
6/5/12 9:42 PM
chucklehead said...
I think you did a beautiful job! I also appreciate all of the helpful comments. Very helpful review!
5/8/13 5:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 6360

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now