SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6503 (Misses' Dresses)

34 more reviews
Viewed 561 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/12 8:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
Looks really cute, not sure if that's any consulation. I understand your frustrations, last one I made for me (Simplicity 1803) was just disappointing. Nothing really *wrong* just didn't love it on me
5/26/12 9:38 PM
Aroura said...
Your fabric is so lovely, and you put in so much work, I am really sorry it didn't turn out as you had hoped. i can see what you mean about the bodice design. If the fabric wasnt such a pain to work with, I might suggest repurposing it. Helpful review though, thank you.
5/26/12 10:49 PM
heathergwo said...
I'm sorry you had such trouble with this. Having said that, it looks pretty good to me! I hope you can still enjoy wearing it after all the work you put into it. And yes... I've cut through too many pieces of fabri at least a few times... it's at that exact moment when you wish you could back up just a second or two!!!
5/27/12 0:21 AM
morzel said...
I think this is a cute dress! Maybe you learn to love it after a few weeks of letting the frustration settle!
5/27/12 9:33 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I love it! You're right, that if you were a bit heavier, it would be more flattering. On me, for example, that would be lovely. ;)
5/27/12 11:19 AM
Renren said...
I think it is exquisite and it shows the attention to detail and perfect technique I associate with your sewing. But when you hit too many glitches in one project, it kind of takes the glow off everything--at least initially. And I know that sick, sinking, deflating feeling of scissors cutting through to the wrong layer of fabric!!!
5/27/12 12:14 PM
zoe said...
Well, the dress and your fabric look lovely. You certainly ran into frustrations though. I loved this pattern myself and am now beginning a second version ( although I did have to do multiple bodice changes and alterations on the muslin first); but I know how you feel; I made a Simplicity dress recently that , for me, was a disaster, and I also hated the bodice styling; but so many others had a great experience with it. Maybe you can reuse some of your fabric though; it really is so nice.
5/27/12 12:40 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks all of you:-) You are all beyond encouraging!
6/5/12 9:42 PM
chucklehead said...
I think you did a beautiful job! I also appreciate all of the helpful comments. Very helpful review!
5/8/13 5:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now