Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6503 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 551 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/12 8:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
Looks really cute, not sure if that's any consulation. I understand your frustrations, last one I made for me (Simplicity 1803) was just disappointing. Nothing really *wrong* just didn't love it on me
5/26/12 9:38 PM
Aroura said...
Your fabric is so lovely, and you put in so much work, I am really sorry it didn't turn out as you had hoped. i can see what you mean about the bodice design. If the fabric wasnt such a pain to work with, I might suggest repurposing it. Helpful review though, thank you.
5/26/12 10:49 PM
heathergwo said...
I'm sorry you had such trouble with this. Having said that, it looks pretty good to me! I hope you can still enjoy wearing it after all the work you put into it. And yes... I've cut through too many pieces of fabri at least a few times... it's at that exact moment when you wish you could back up just a second or two!!!
5/27/12 0:21 AM
morzel said...
I think this is a cute dress! Maybe you learn to love it after a few weeks of letting the frustration settle!
5/27/12 9:33 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I love it! You're right, that if you were a bit heavier, it would be more flattering. On me, for example, that would be lovely. ;)
5/27/12 11:19 AM
Renren said...
I think it is exquisite and it shows the attention to detail and perfect technique I associate with your sewing. But when you hit too many glitches in one project, it kind of takes the glow off everything--at least initially. And I know that sick, sinking, deflating feeling of scissors cutting through to the wrong layer of fabric!!!
5/27/12 12:14 PM
zoe said...
Well, the dress and your fabric look lovely. You certainly ran into frustrations though. I loved this pattern myself and am now beginning a second version ( although I did have to do multiple bodice changes and alterations on the muslin first); but I know how you feel; I made a Simplicity dress recently that , for me, was a disaster, and I also hated the bodice styling; but so many others had a great experience with it. Maybe you can reuse some of your fabric though; it really is so nice.
5/27/12 12:40 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks all of you:-) You are all beyond encouraging!
6/5/12 9:42 PM
chucklehead said...
I think you did a beautiful job! I also appreciate all of the helpful comments. Very helpful review!
5/8/13 5:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 6559
photo
Review by lizzieblat... on 1/22/14
Read Review

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2408 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by javamommyo... on 6/8/10
Read Review

New Look 6144 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6144 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1298 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1298 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us