SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5830 (Elegant Gothic Gown)

Viewed 1744 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/04 10:59 PM
Last Updated:12/26/04 6:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pharmercoon said...
I would still be there scratching my head trying to decide how to moosh all those pattern pieces together! You are amazing-she looks great! Kay
12/19/04 1:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great outfit on a lovely model. I so admire your creativity -- and under the gun at that.
12/19/04 4:24 AM
Linda E. said...
great design ,beautiful model,. you do inspiring work while under the gun
12/19/04 7:57 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wild applause!!! What a lovely dress. Your DD is so lucky. Makes me wish I had a daughter to sew for! -Ann
12/19/04 8:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What creativity - and it looks fantastic. Great job.
12/19/04 10:05 AM
MaryBeth said...
Research library and stash win the day in the hands of a talented designer! She looks so lovely, so appropriate and yet so Lolita. Congratulations! I look forward to the photo shots of your finishing techniques using that wonderful Venice lace.
12/19/04 11:40 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, perfect for a B&W semi-formal when DD likes goth.
12/19/04 5:24 PM
cindyann said...
Wonderful job, Georgene! I'm sure she was very pleased. A pretty and unique dress for your pretty and unique daughter.
12/19/04 5:24 PM
SewingSusan said...
you are amazing. i am so impressed!
12/20/04 7:29 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow Georgene, this is such an inspirational tale! Makes me want to go and CREATE! I hope this time you were at least on the right coast :)
12/20/04 9:24 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW. Stunning work. I can see the quality of the silk from here in Taipei. Your daughter looks luminous. She is going to end up learning to sew, after being totally spoiled by a one-of-a-kind silk dress for a freshman high school dance. She must feel cherished.
12/20/04 10:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
Georgene - your DD might like to see "A Series of Unfortunate Events" - it's chock full of this look. She looks great!
12/20/04 1:24 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a creation under fire! You must be beaming with pride--your daughter looks perfect. Anxious to read more about your lace trim techniques also.
12/26/04 6:29 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Georgine, that dress turned out fabulous! Black and white with a twist of her own made her the bell of that ball, I bet. Thank you for all the details about sewing on silk and lace. Hot Kouture, LOL. I love it.
12/26/04 9:53 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Oh, your daughter is so lucky to have her own personal (and talented) designer!
12/26/04 10:42 AM
bunz said...
Georgene, What a pleasure to read the diary of a creative, resourceful and dry-witted humorous seamstress! Bravo!!
12/26/04 10:53 AM
Tini said...
ROFL!! great review!
12/26/04 2:36 PM
redhead said...
Wow, that's love. And such great results! Congratulations on another stunner.
12/26/04 10:37 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow- what a terrific dress! It looks wonderful on dd.
12/27/04 10:32 PM
BeckyW said...
Very creative! I admire your talent.
6/27/05 4:06 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Georgene, I don't know how I missed this review. The dress is gorgeous! I hope your daughter realizes how lucky she is to have such a talented mother.
9/10/05 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 4859

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now