Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5830 (Elegant Gothic Gown) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1741 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/04 10:59 PM
Last Updated:12/26/04 6:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pharmercoon said...
I would still be there scratching my head trying to decide how to moosh all those pattern pieces together! You are amazing-she looks great! Kay
12/19/04 1:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great outfit on a lovely model. I so admire your creativity -- and under the gun at that.
12/19/04 4:24 AM
Linda E. said...
great design ,beautiful model,. you do inspiring work while under the gun
12/19/04 7:57 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wild applause!!! What a lovely dress. Your DD is so lucky. Makes me wish I had a daughter to sew for! -Ann
12/19/04 8:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What creativity - and it looks fantastic. Great job.
12/19/04 10:05 AM
MaryBeth said...
Research library and stash win the day in the hands of a talented designer! She looks so lovely, so appropriate and yet so Lolita. Congratulations! I look forward to the photo shots of your finishing techniques using that wonderful Venice lace.
12/19/04 11:40 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, perfect for a B&W semi-formal when DD likes goth.
12/19/04 5:24 PM
cindyann said...
Wonderful job, Georgene! I'm sure she was very pleased. A pretty and unique dress for your pretty and unique daughter.
12/19/04 5:24 PM
SewingSusan said...
you are amazing. i am so impressed!
12/20/04 7:29 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow Georgene, this is such an inspirational tale! Makes me want to go and CREATE! I hope this time you were at least on the right coast :)
12/20/04 9:24 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW. Stunning work. I can see the quality of the silk from here in Taipei. Your daughter looks luminous. She is going to end up learning to sew, after being totally spoiled by a one-of-a-kind silk dress for a freshman high school dance. She must feel cherished.
12/20/04 10:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
Georgene - your DD might like to see "A Series of Unfortunate Events" - it's chock full of this look. She looks great!
12/20/04 1:24 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a creation under fire! You must be beaming with pride--your daughter looks perfect. Anxious to read more about your lace trim techniques also.
12/26/04 6:29 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Georgine, that dress turned out fabulous! Black and white with a twist of her own made her the bell of that ball, I bet. Thank you for all the details about sewing on silk and lace. Hot Kouture, LOL. I love it.
12/26/04 9:53 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Oh, your daughter is so lucky to have her own personal (and talented) designer!
12/26/04 10:42 AM
bunz said...
Georgene, What a pleasure to read the diary of a creative, resourceful and dry-witted humorous seamstress! Bravo!!
12/26/04 10:53 AM
Tini said...
ROFL!! great review!
12/26/04 2:36 PM
redhead said...
Wow, that's love. And such great results! Congratulations on another stunner.
12/26/04 10:37 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow- what a terrific dress! It looks wonderful on dd.
12/27/04 10:32 PM
BeckyW said...
Very creative! I admire your talent.
6/27/05 4:06 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Georgene, I don't know how I missed this review. The dress is gorgeous! I hope your daughter realizes how lucky she is to have such a talented mother.
9/10/05 8:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Oliver + S Red Riding Hood
photo
Review by justinsbri... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 1203
photo
Review by JEF on 8/11/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8947 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8947 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6477 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6477 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us