SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5830 (Elegant Gothic Gown)

Viewed 1744 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/04 10:59 PM
Last Updated:12/26/04 6:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pharmercoon said...
I would still be there scratching my head trying to decide how to moosh all those pattern pieces together! You are amazing-she looks great! Kay
12/19/04 1:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great outfit on a lovely model. I so admire your creativity -- and under the gun at that.
12/19/04 4:24 AM
Linda E. said...
great design ,beautiful model,. you do inspiring work while under the gun
12/19/04 7:57 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wild applause!!! What a lovely dress. Your DD is so lucky. Makes me wish I had a daughter to sew for! -Ann
12/19/04 8:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What creativity - and it looks fantastic. Great job.
12/19/04 10:05 AM
MaryBeth said...
Research library and stash win the day in the hands of a talented designer! She looks so lovely, so appropriate and yet so Lolita. Congratulations! I look forward to the photo shots of your finishing techniques using that wonderful Venice lace.
12/19/04 11:40 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, perfect for a B&W semi-formal when DD likes goth.
12/19/04 5:24 PM
cindyann said...
Wonderful job, Georgene! I'm sure she was very pleased. A pretty and unique dress for your pretty and unique daughter.
12/19/04 5:24 PM
SewingSusan said...
you are amazing. i am so impressed!
12/20/04 7:29 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow Georgene, this is such an inspirational tale! Makes me want to go and CREATE! I hope this time you were at least on the right coast :)
12/20/04 9:24 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW. Stunning work. I can see the quality of the silk from here in Taipei. Your daughter looks luminous. She is going to end up learning to sew, after being totally spoiled by a one-of-a-kind silk dress for a freshman high school dance. She must feel cherished.
12/20/04 10:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
Georgene - your DD might like to see "A Series of Unfortunate Events" - it's chock full of this look. She looks great!
12/20/04 1:24 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a creation under fire! You must be beaming with pride--your daughter looks perfect. Anxious to read more about your lace trim techniques also.
12/26/04 6:29 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Georgine, that dress turned out fabulous! Black and white with a twist of her own made her the bell of that ball, I bet. Thank you for all the details about sewing on silk and lace. Hot Kouture, LOL. I love it.
12/26/04 9:53 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Oh, your daughter is so lucky to have her own personal (and talented) designer!
12/26/04 10:42 AM
bunz said...
Georgene, What a pleasure to read the diary of a creative, resourceful and dry-witted humorous seamstress! Bravo!!
12/26/04 10:53 AM
Tini said...
ROFL!! great review!
12/26/04 2:36 PM
redhead said...
Wow, that's love. And such great results! Congratulations on another stunner.
12/26/04 10:37 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow- what a terrific dress! It looks wonderful on dd.
12/27/04 10:32 PM
BeckyW said...
Very creative! I admire your talent.
6/27/05 4:06 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Georgene, I don't know how I missed this review. The dress is gorgeous! I hope your daughter realizes how lucky she is to have such a talented mother.
9/10/05 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: norsk

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Other Clean Slate pant/short

photo
by: KAHooke

Review