SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6171 (Misses' Lined Jackets)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 617 times 
Reviewed by:hpsauce
photo

 
 
About hpsaucestar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/3/09
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/12 1:59 PM
Last Updated:5/29/12 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
What a great touch, love the ruffle on it! Can't believe you got the whole jacket out of one hide for $30, it looks fantastic!
5/29/12 2:33 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is absolutely FABULOUS!!!!! I love the ruffles.
5/29/12 3:15 PM
BexInMD said...
What a fabulous jacket! The ruffles are simply amazing. Love the "mad" lining.
5/29/12 3:18 PM
JuanitaVA said...
Great job! I love the detailing and the lining fabric. The inner pocket was a nice touch. Good for you sticking with it to make those ruffles.
5/29/12 3:27 PM
Curly26 said...
That jacket is rockin.
5/29/12 4:08 PM
velosewer said...
Now that was sorth sewing. I'm really pleased you have you sewing motivation back!
5/29/12 4:37 PM
CCQ said...
Wow - that looks awesome and glad you persevered with the ruffles - nice touch! It's in my stash and waiting to be sewn :)
5/29/12 5:10 PM
hme75 said...
WOW- this is fantastic!! And the leather seems to be great quality as well. I can't believe it was only $30. I love your camel jacket just as much. Beautiful.
5/29/12 9:03 PM
ArtAttack said...
Biker meets elegance...love the unexpected combo!
5/29/12 10:12 PM
heathergwo said...
Awesome jacket! Love the ruffling - what a pay off from those hours of work! Really good job - you almost make it sound like leather is easy to work with... great review!
5/30/12 0:35 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Amazing and impressive!
5/30/12 2:33 AM
pdiddly said...
what a terrific jacket and the ruffles were worth the effort - I too am so jealous of your $30 leather - I have some sued still waiting for me to sew - I must get going on it.
5/30/12 3:07 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautifully done. You do make it sound easy to work with leather. Very encouraging!
5/30/12 8:48 AM
redside said...
Wow! That's all I can say.
5/30/12 9:29 AM
caper81 said...
Wow, this jacket is fantastic!! Nicely done :)
5/30/12 9:33 AM
lcdrbetty said...
What more can be said!? This jacket is way cool. Nicely done!
5/30/12 12:21 PM
barebear said...
Oh my gosh, this is gorgeous! I love the ruffles! Your seams and topstitching looks really professional. :) Way to go!
5/30/12 12:38 PM
MNBarb said...
Why have I not made this pattern? It's in my stash, but perhaps I should just have you make a jacket for me. Your black leather with the ruffles is so professionally done it's unbelievable! I love it and you look fantastic in it. Congrats on your perfection!
5/30/12 1:25 PM
CraftAddict said...
Great job. I absolutely ADORE the camel one!
5/30/12 4:29 PM
tsedai said...
Fabulous!
5/30/12 7:38 PM
dawn so cal said...
Wow! Beautiful. And impressive!
5/31/12 6:23 AM
mangoflavor said...
Great look!
5/31/12 6:56 AM
homewerk said...
So full of awesome-ness!
6/4/12 1:55 AM
JenniferMM said...
This looks fantastic! Indeed, the ruffles were the perfect touch. Great work persevering with those tricky things. I also adore the lining and the hat pocket. Adorable finishing touches!
6/5/12 8:40 AM
Aroura said...
Wow, the ruffles are an amazing touch, worth the trouble. Great jacket, love it!!
6/5/12 7:00 PM
meggipeg said...
Wow! I thought I got a cheap leather jacket from Bali last year at $150. This is really impressive for $30. Makes me think about making one. Great job.
6/5/12 10:02 PM
CConverse said...
Fantastic! Can't decide what my favorite feature is, the ruffles or that awesome lining.
6/8/12 10:09 AM
Aless said...
Absolutely amazing!!!!!
6/14/12 2:46 AM
heathergwo said...
I think you were robbed of the first place prize in this contest. This jacket is AMAZING and I can't believe you've only been sewing for 3 yrs! You're my sewing hero! Fab jacket & LOVE the lining and pocket inside - too clever!
6/22/12 7:03 PM
ArtAttack said...
Congrats on placing in the Natural Fibers contest!!
6/23/12 2:13 PM
kremmer said...
I totally love it! What a wonderful jacket! Well done to you!
6/24/12 11:46 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! It's gorgeous, and I can't believe you only spent $30 on the leather! Did you "crop" the sleeves? How big was the hide?
12/1/12 11:40 AM
slmstyle said...
great jacket, thanks for the detailed review!
1/27/13 11:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Papercut Patterns 1006

photo
by: seish

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6112

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review