SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6028 ( MISSES' DRESSES)

15 more reviews
Viewed 633 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 265
Favored by: 152 people
patterns reviewed: 254
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/12 11:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolyn101 said...
Thanks for your very helpful review- although I am more of an SBA girl your detailed alteration were great. I can't see any sign of hem flare in you picture- your dress looks beautiful.
6/8/12 0:13 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. I like the contrast piping a lot.
6/8/12 1:33 AM
Dilliander said...
Very smart, the diagonal plaids and piping look great.
6/8/12 2:21 AM
mesewlot said...
I love what you did with this pattern and the fabric. So, glad your hem situation worked out! Looking at your dress, you would never know your dilemmas with creating it!~ job WELL done!!
6/8/12 2:25 AM
Scheri said...
Love your reviews. I think this dress is fantastic.
6/8/12 2:30 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for such a thorough review. The photos on your blog explaining your pattern alterations were so helpful. There's nothing like seeing it! It's hard to believe your dress was so close to becoming a wadder - it's beautiful! I really like the bias front and your piping. Your fitting is exceptional and the dress looks lovely on you.
6/8/12 8:17 AM
cleverkitty said...
really sharp dress, I love the piping too :)
6/8/12 8:18 AM
Ciclista said...
Lovely and creative as always!
6/8/12 8:45 AM
Jrhee said...
Love your dress!
6/8/12 10:28 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute with the on bias and piping details...love it!
6/8/12 10:56 AM
sunnysewer said...
love the plaids and the fit is fantastic, great post.
6/8/12 11:58 AM
Heatherrique said...
The plaid placement is very attractive. Kudos to your daughter, she is just too clever!
6/8/12 12:14 PM
marec said...
What an elegant dress, and what a great save. Your daughter is so smart!
6/8/12 3:10 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks, everyone.
6/8/12 4:11 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
love it!
6/8/12 7:16 PM
GailFriday said...
Sharp--good technique, and very flattering. Nice work!
6/9/12 12:29 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! Beautiful dress. Gotta love the newbies!
6/9/12 1:43 PM
Wianno Girl said...
super job - I will remember the chain idea as it's an Elegant solution...
6/11/12 2:53 PM
tigergirl said...
What a fantastic save, as others have said, you'd never guess there was a problem with the hem.
6/11/12 9:34 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, aren't you just PRETTY AS A PICTURE in this dress? I would have never thought to use the plaid suiting, but I LOVE the result! Good thing your daughter is around to give you WINNING SOLUTIONS, too, for that hemline. It's just perfect!
7/1/12 2:12 AM
debrawinfrey said...
Yes the piping looks great with this fabric!!
7/8/12 10:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5783

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now