Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4109 (Corsets and petticoats) thumbsup - Type:Other
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest    printable version
Viewed 466 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:TimeandAgain
photo
About TimeandAgainstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/12
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/12 4:00 AM
Last Updated:6/20/12 4:42 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
Looks very fashionable. Nice work.
6/8/12 8:31 AM
Legal.Dealer said...
I love love love how you put the doily in the front panel! That is a real special touch. Now, where will you wear it?
6/8/12 8:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, it looks like it was lots of fun making it. Like what you did with the denim.
6/8/12 10:21 AM
Sherril Miller said...
It's beautiful, I hope your daughter loved it. Any chance of seeing a photo of her wearing it?
6/8/12 12:55 PM
allycovey said...
I love it very nice
6/8/12 5:14 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty and love the lace detail!
6/9/12 8:22 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a terrific corset! Would you mine explaining what size grommets and particular setter you used? How did you reinforce the panel where the grommets are used? If you could PM me about this or post in the comments, I would really appreciate it. Great review and I enjoyed reading about it on your blog.
6/9/12 9:47 AM
TimeandAgain said...
Thanks everyone - It will be worn to a school dance with a t-shirt and a denim jacket over the top. Ryan's mom - the denim is VERY heavy - the back panel is just itself and the lining and the folded over allowance - I made the holes with an awl and then used a pack of 8.7mm two piece eyelets (or grommits) and the included tool to set them - if lacing this tighter I would have used smaller grommits, more of them, and a stronger lacing, but this is more of a stiff, really well fitted bodice so didn't need to go too overboard on the closure.
6/9/12 5:17 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
This is wonderful. You have done a stunning job.
6/9/12 7:04 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks so much for that info, Timeandagain. (I almost said TandA, until I realized what I was typing lol.)
6/9/12 10:45 PM
Catherine Daze said...
Those are both stunning. I love the orange ribbon on the rose corset. It's unexpected and yet so right.
6/20/12 5:09 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
Amazing!
6/20/12 10:32 PM
Scheri said...
Incredible review. Thank you. The corsets are beautiful. Your daughter is a lucky young lady.
6/21/12 1:43 AM
CCQ said...
Very nice! Excellent mix of fabrics and trim. Thanks for the details and encouragement -- I may have to try one for my daughters.
6/21/12 9:52 AM
Terri A said...
Amazing corsets. Love the ribbon and colors you chose.
6/22/12 10:25 PM
velosewer said...
I think you're onto a winner!
6/23/12 2:02 AM
hairy stitches said...
I love the pumpkin color for the laces on the floral corset, it really brings a visual punch to the top.
7/1/12 7:55 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I loved the denim corset, and I love the pink one too!
7/6/12 6:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1006
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/17/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6607
photo
Review by JGillentin... on 11/9/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us