SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8795 (Marcy Tilton Jacket)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1483 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/12 11:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for the tips and details about your pattern alterations. Well worth it as the end result is just magic :)
6/12/12 11:06 PM
Jrhee said...
This is gorgeous as you've sewn it! Your fitting alterations make all the difference.
6/12/12 11:11 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely jacket!
6/12/12 11:30 PM
Fictionfan said...
You've articulated exactly what it is that I don't like about Marci Tilton's designs. If you are stick thin and need all that looseness and bulk to have some shape (like those mannequins her designs are always displayed on), the patterns will probably fit right out of the package. Your jacket is how I'd want mine to fit. It is perfect! If I take the plunge and try one of her patterns, I will definitely refer to your review. Thanks for doing all the work of fitting it for me and for all the details! Great review!!
6/12/12 11:35 PM
velosewer said...
Yay. You conquered this pattern. Nice jacket.
6/13/12 0:14 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket !!! I am guessing the jacket would be much warmer with a closer fit too. Thanks for your great review Belinda :)
6/13/12 1:43 AM
Lilibet said...
Fabulous result. Your comments are very helpful as this is next on my sewing list.
6/13/12 2:57 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and your fitting alterations make it a very smart jacket that has some wonderful lines.
6/13/12 3:17 AM
KaSchu said...
I have never cared for Marcy Tilton's designs and would never have been tempted by the original pattern. Your alterations have made a beautiful jacket and one that I would love to make. Thank you for your great review.
6/13/12 3:28 AM
Skye said...
Beautiful jacket
6/13/12 4:20 AM
pdiddly said...
love it
6/13/12 5:13 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautiful work! Thanks for all the details re: how you made this pattern work for you!
6/13/12 6:22 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for such a thorough review. Your jacket turned out beautifully and I appreciate all your notes on the sizing.
6/13/12 6:39 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket with amazing trim. Your changes made a world of difference in the jacket's fitting outcome. Great job.
6/13/12 8:21 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Nicely done! The fit is perfect and the jacket looks great on you! Thanks for the review.
6/13/12 8:43 AM
marthamyers said...
Great jacket and very informative review. Your result looks wonderful.
6/13/12 8:45 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Thanks for a wonderful review. I agree with your comments about Marci Tilton's designs--they are very shapeless and not particularly flattering--well, not on me. I'd looked at this pattern, then decided not to buy it, but your review has sparked my interest again. You've certainly made a wonderful jacket, far nicer than the original.
6/13/12 8:49 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
That is a beautiful jacket and I love the closure!
6/13/12 9:20 AM
Bobbi A said...
Your jacket looks absolutely beautiful. I really appreciate your review and notes of all the alterations you made, since I have another of Marci Tilton's jacket patterns in my stash. This will give me confidence and a jumping-off point for my own project. Thank you!
6/13/12 9:32 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job on the fitting. I love your changes.
6/13/12 9:49 AM
marec said...
This is so lovely! The changes you made to get the fit you desired are so smart-and the jacket in boiled wool is very professional looking. As an aside, I am impressed that the first two reviews of this pattern resulted in 2 very different styles. Your jacket is really superb!
6/13/12 10:18 AM
LynnRowe said...
Terrific re-design of the pattern! (Wish Vogue would hire you and others like yourself, and kick the current pattern drafters to the curb!) LOVE your jacket!
6/13/12 10:23 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
That is a great looking jacket. Worth all the changes you had to make!
6/13/12 11:06 AM
barbcl said...
A gorgeous jacket, and your changes make the difference.
6/13/12 11:21 AM
hme75 said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your changes make it perfect!
6/13/12 1:14 PM
JaniceCB said...
Thanks so very much for this excellent review! I will making this soon and will certainly use your alterations.
6/13/12 1:37 PM
LynnG said...
Great looking jacket!
6/13/12 2:10 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant review. Great timing for me, I have this on my next to be done pile. Thank you for your tips and ideas, what is the buttito method please?
6/13/12 3:58 PM
Rhoda K said...
As always, a beautiful jacket and informative review. Also, ditto what everyone else said ;-)
6/13/12 5:21 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh wow! I can't wait to read your blog post on the jacket!
6/13/12 6:28 PM
Knitz said...
Adding my voice to the chorus -- it may have been a lot of extra adaptation, but it looks great on you!
6/13/12 7:25 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Clareew, the burrito method is a method I've seen both in David Coffin's Shirtmaking book and Sandra Betzina's Power Sewing book. The method involves rolling the garment inside the collar, like a burrito, helping to reduce the bulk at the front edge of the collar. Hard to explain but it gives professional results. HTH
6/13/12 8:12 PM
Elke said...
Lovely jacket and it looks very stylish on you! Your photos are very helpful. Thanks for a great review!
6/13/12 10:30 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thank you so much for the pattern comparison photos of your alterations. While I probably won't tackle this jacket, I am finally learning that the reason I have made so many unflattering garments is due to poor fit( too large) in the shoulders, neck, and sleeves. I have started to make alterations and it is great to see your examples reiterating my instincts! I consider you as much of an authority as any reference book.
6/13/12 11:41 PM
Gendun said...
Truly gorgeous! Thanks for the informative, detailed review and for the inspiration! :)
6/20/12 12:05 PM
JillyBe said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Excellent review too; I'll be referring to it when I make up my version; thank you :)
6/21/12 5:59 AM
JillyBe said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Excellent review too; I'll be referring to it when I make up my version; thank you :)
6/21/12 5:59 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Excellent review.
1/16/13 6:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 5780

photo
by: Kristine K...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2006-129

photo
by: jkaori

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now