Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5545 (Children's/Girls' Leotard, Skirt, Bag and Ponytail Holder) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 140 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:Courtney Ostaff
photo
Friend of PR
About Courtney Ostaff
WV USA
Member since: 11/23/10
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/12 3:13 PM
Last Updated:7/23/12 8:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Kski said...
When I sew, I never go for the fastest time record. For me it's therapeautic and racing would just cause a lot of stress. Did you happen to add elastic at the neckline and armscyes? I can't really tell from the photo, but for a leotard, the armscye fabric extends out onto the shoulder too far. By the way, I never understood why the Big 4 used casings for swimsuits and leotards instead of the Kwik Sew and Stretch & Sew methods. Zig-zagging or serging the elastic to the inside of the opening and then flipping it under and topstitching it is a whole lot easier and makes for a much cleaner finish. You see the KS & S & S methods down in RTW swimsuits and leotards all the time. Good luck with your future leotards. Remember to slow down and enjoy the journey.
6/21/12 0:56 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
No, I didn't add elastic. It said to use bias tape to stiffen the seam, so I did. My main problem is that she has trouble getting it on, because the neck opening isn't big enough. I'm not sure if I should zig-zag that as well -- but it wouldn't look so hot, I don't think. I just turned under the first one, as per directions. I lined the second one, so it was pretty, but again, she had trouble getting it on. Maybe elastic thread?
6/21/12 3:56 PM
wildbluestarz said...
My LO (boy) had a similar problem with the Jalie biketard pattern for gymnastics. I just put it on him slowly and try not to over stretch it. I think it is a design issue if we had the same problems with two different brand patterns. A lot of the girl style have a lower back line and I think that helps with that opening/head issue.
7/23/12 9:44 PM
Stargirl7 said...
This blog has tons of tips for sewing swimsuits, which are exactly the same as leotards. Well worth reading all of her posts about it.

A tip for the leg openings: You want to use elastic at about a 1:1 ratio with the seamline for the front, but in the back you want to pull the elastic tighter - that is, use less elastic than fabric - so that the leo will cup under the bottom and stay there. Thus your elastic should be shorter than the opening. The 1:1 on the front part will gather up a bit when you turn it up.

I don't know what this pattern is thinking with the neck finishes. Commercial leos have elastic at the neckline just like the legs. Tank-style leos have elastic at the armhole as well, which allows the leo to move with the body without gaping. (If a leo has sleeves, they are usually hemmed like a knit shirt would be.) I'd adjust the neckline on your pattern to make it wide enough to go over the wearer's head. As a previous poster said, commercial leos often have a lower back, in part to allow for this. My daughter prefers leos with a higher neck, as then the neckline is sure to stay high enough even when stretching.

In future, I *highly* recommend the Kwik Sew patterns for dance and swim wear. They give all the details you need to produce an excellent product.

I love the fabric you chose! And it's so nice to learn to sew leos and swim gear. They take such a small amount of fabric, and you can make them to fit exactly! Little girls love having "one of a kind", "custom-made" creations! How great that your daughter has a mom who can do this for her!

I have also found that dancewear can make great gifts. For very little time and money, I can make "custom" dance shorts and ballet skirts that are beautiful, fit well, and are very much appreciated by the recipient.
7/24/12 1:30 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
Thanks for the great tips!! I'm about *this* close to buying a new pattern, though my alterations seem to work well.
7/25/12 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 1251
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/23/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3276
photo
Review by Learn To S... on 8/7/06
Read Review

Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us