SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8665 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/12 7:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great review and how nice are you to sew for your friend. I have this pattern and so I'm happy you liked it(and did a knot too!) thanks!
6/27/12 7:56 PM
Tina Lou said...
A beautiful dress in a wonderful fabric - reminds us all that simple lines are often the best - thanks for a wonderful review, Phyllis!
6/27/12 8:17 PM
bjird said...
Great review, beautiful dress!
6/27/12 10:22 PM
Fran G said...
Love the fluidity of this dress..never thought to underline with Milliskin. I am always in doubt as to the correct way to apply neckline elastic..I assume you are speaking of the clear elastic. Can you give a quick explanation of how you apply it? Also, the glue..you glued the Milliskin to the fashion fabric? And what kind of glue did you use. Thanks for the review and for answering my questions..I'd like to try this pattern!
6/28/12 8:12 AM
marec said...
Very pretty dress-I like the lines and the fabric you used is gorgeous. I enjoyed reading your review as you included information not usually found so easily in some reviews. Thanks!
6/28/12 11:22 AM
PhyllisC said...
Fran I used 1/4 inch black elastic, I find it easier to use than clear, either should work fine. Glue was just a glue stick - yup, like the kind in office supplies.
6/28/12 1:49 PM
PhyllisC said...
Sorry - aplying the elastic it's no different than for a knit top, the joined elastic (I used fusible interfacing to do that) is divided into qaudrants, pinned and stretched to fit the folded neck edge as it goes through the machine. This is the standard method there must be a million tutorials on YouTube by now.
6/28/12 1:52 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you for the details in your review. I never gave this pattern a second look, but really love it in a knit! Now I must purchase Milliskin.... :)
6/28/12 3:09 PM
Fran G said...
Thanks, Phyllis! I am glad I asked because I, too, have experienced difficulty using the clear elastic. Knowing that you use the 1/4" regular kind sounds as if I will have the control that the clear elastic just doesn't afford me. I will google to view the application. Many thanks! Your tip alone about using regular elastic is a great help.
6/28/12 5:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now