Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5391 (Misses Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 266 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:phthooey
photo
About phthooeystar
TX USA
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/12 9:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KensingtonCrab said...
Love the scalloping! Very cute shorts!
7/8/12 9:46 AM
marec said...
Really cute! The scallops are such a great addition.
7/8/12 11:11 AM
Jill Giard said...
Sooooo cute! the scalloped edges are great - Can you elaborate on the process? I am assuming you faced the hem?
7/8/12 11:31 AM
MissCelie said...
A-DORABLE!
7/8/12 11:50 AM
Myspirit4 said...
Love these shorts, especially the scalloped edge!
7/8/12 12:06 PM
JTink said...
I found this pattern was cut way too low for my very high waist, had to do a lot of altering. Yours turned out cute and those scallops are so smart :-)
7/8/12 2:31 PM
olybinewski said...
These are just darling! You've made something truly unique.
7/8/12 4:58 PM
Raye Ann said...
I have scallops up for my next Iris shorts! It looks great on your cute green shorts.
7/8/12 10:44 PM
Rlkataja said...
Wow!! Adorable :) Love the color and the scallops!!
7/9/12 6:05 AM
JEF said...
Too cute. The scallops are a great touch and so well executed too!
7/9/12 8:32 AM
cleverkitty said...
really cute style with the scallops and I love the color.
7/9/12 9:39 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your shorts are darling - love those scalloped edges.
7/9/12 8:49 PM
phthooey said...
Thanks for the comments! @Jill Giard - yes, the scalloped hem is faced. You asked about the process of adding scallops. I traced the shorts pattern and lengthened the hem by two inches for both the front and back of the shorts. Then I traced off facing pieces for the hem, and drew the scallops on the facings: I measured the width of the front leg opening (not including seam allowances) and divided that between 7 scallops, so each scallop ended up being that same distance apart. I marked each one with a dot along the hemline, then took a spice jar lid (very exacting, I know) and traced the curves. So the top of each scallop touches where the original hemline was intended to be. Same for the back. Wish I'd gone for only 5 scallops, in retrospect, but it was all an experiment. :) Hope this helps!
7/16/12 8:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6347
photo
Review by whirrclunk on 11/29/08
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6631
photo
Review by Seweemama on 7/9/13
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2065 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2065 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6553 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6553 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us