Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Poche: Sandy (Sandy) - Type:Toddlers    printable version
Viewed 85 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:BrightFeather
photo
About BrightFeatherstar
GA USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/12 9:19 PM
Last Updated:7/8/12 11:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmj said...
I've had the same issue with these patterns. I love them - they're darling, classic designs and not too froufrou. I have way too many of them! But I sew for kids that don't live anywhere near me, and I have to be able to use their measurements to size patterns. The only suggestion I've had from Petite Poche is to take an outfit that fits them and compare it to the pattern. Since they don't live nearby, so I can't do that. Anyway ---- Yours turned out lovely!
7/9/12 10:37 AM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
Thanks so much for the head's up about Petite Poche patterns. I love supporting independent pattern designers, but still want that professional looking result. Sizing is a big deal. Despite everything, your nieces look adoradable in the outfits you made!
7/9/12 11:54 AM
ctirish said...
I would not have imagined the outcome looking at the pattern. And the ability to make a matching cover to a sunsuit. just great. I have sizing issues too, last year I made 4 dresses and all of them were too big. Recently, I want to make tops and capris but if i go by the measurements on the pattern I will be making a size 3 for my 6 yr gd. I can't imagine that everything is going to be in the right place. So, do you think Petie Poche patterns run big or small?
7/10/12 1:47 AM
BrightFeather said...
Ctirish, RTW sizing and pattern sizing don't even have a nodding acquaintance. Especially in kids clothing. If she's measuring a three, she probably is one--though you need to check finished length and torso length. Gracie is 4 and still solidly in 3s, but she's the height of an average six-year-old, so everything has to be lengthened. It's become part of my standard regime to check both and lengthen if necessary--and it usually is! I've even altered RTW stuff for her by adding bands of fabric to the bottom. As for Petite Poche, this is the only pattern I've made, so I can't really generalize. The fit was pretty good on the girls, (Nikki's was a great fit!) aside from the fact that the rise on the play suit and the straps were too short on Gracie's! PHD, thanks! CMJ- Nice to know I'm not the only one! Thanks! Edit: I've learned how to size these now. Take the kid's measurements and add two inches to them for wearing ease and compare to the finished measurements. Make the one that matches and you're good to go!
7/11/12 0:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 7182
photo
Review by javamommyo... on 5/1/10
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1329 Misses Dress
photo
Review by SewLuva on 6/25/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5785 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5785 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us