SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1806 (Misses Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 695 times 
Reviewed by:SquishSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SquishSewsstar
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/12 4:56 AM
Last Updated:7/15/12 7:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SquishSews said...
Pictures later. Can't find the edit link on my phone. For now, Flickr.com/photos/squishsews.
7/15/12 4:57 AM
frame said...
I like it. The back is so interesting. I think the fabric recommendations are for something really drapey. A soft woven rayon perhaps?
7/15/12 1:24 PM
SquishSews said...
Thanks, frame! I chose the cotton because one of the choices was "laundered cotton"... and I did pre-wash! But it was too crisp. However, after a half-day of wearing it in 95* weather... the crispness gave it a bit of "float" that was really comfortable.
7/15/12 7:17 PM
prttynpnk said...
Those insets are very fun! Now I need to make this again,too!
7/15/12 8:36 PM
zoe said...
Very cute top!
7/15/12 9:52 PM
flyawayhair said...
I love this! I am so inspired by the insets...I'm going to have to copy you. Great job.
7/15/12 10:09 PM
PattyE said...
Really cute top...I love the crisp collar!
7/15/12 11:58 PM
JEF said...
Love what you did with the inserts.
7/16/12 4:42 AM
SquishSews said...
Thank you, prttynpnk - looks like chose similar colors! Thanks, Zoe; I got four or five compliments yesterday even without people knowing I made it. I'm shocked, LOL, but find the top very comfortable to wear! Flyawayhair, for some reason (pure stubbornness?) I had to maximize the amount of the solid color... so it took three pieces, scrounging the solid, to make up the pattern piece (#14 ha, I remember)! Thanks, PattyE! It softened a bit over the day's wear, but not much. Thanks, JEF-my first try at them. I really need to figure out better what to where three pieces of fabric meet...
7/17/12 6:51 AM
slee said...
Looks nice!
7/26/12 7:43 PM
Readbks said...
I really like the insets. I'd never have thought of doing something like this--thanks so much for the inspiration!
6/23/14 5:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6278

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review