Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2012-109 (Chanel style jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 391 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/12 5:11 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
This is a very pretty piece.
7/18/12 5:14 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is beautiful, Karin!
7/18/12 7:10 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket!
7/18/12 9:54 AM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous in pink! Looks great with your skirt, and would also look cute over a tee and jeans.
7/18/12 10:27 AM
Renren said...
I love this take on a Chanel jacket. Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the link on jacket making--perfect for upcoming contest. Everytime I go to Pattern Scissors Cloth, I leave quite impressed by the information and presentation.
7/18/12 10:57 AM
MNBarb said...
Just beautiful!
7/18/12 12:32 PM
karen n said...
Really appreciate your comments on real Chanel jackets not requiring all of that intensive hand sewing and whatnot. Frees me up to try one like your lovely version!
7/18/12 12:58 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, that is a really pretty jacket! I believe I need this pattern.
7/18/12 1:52 PM
miausiau said...
Lovely! I have made 3 in the quilted style and it is not as labor intensive as it may seem, however its not a quick project either! No one but you knows about the lining anyway...besides like you said, many Chanels are lined in the usual fashion.
7/18/12 3:21 PM
eileen said...
beautiful jacket - can I ask what you did for the trim? is it purchased trim or did you fringe the fabric. If the latter, was it difficult? That's the only thing that has been holding me back from doing this jacket.
7/19/12 1:01 PM
twinkle72 said...
Eileen, I am not a paying member, so I can't send you a pm. Anyway, the fringed trim was very easy to make. I followed Burda's instructions were actually straight forward. Basically, you sew a couple of zigzag seems down the middle of a strip of your fashion fabric and then pull out the warp threads on the edges. This trim is made from two of these fringed strips, one stacked on top of the other to beef it up a bit.
7/19/12 1:31 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Interesting how so many of us are drawn to the Chanel style jacket...even those of us who don't think it to even be our style! Wonderful job on a very versatile jacket, I do imagine you will get a lot of use from it.
7/19/12 9:16 PM
eileen said...
thank you for the information. Actually your description really clears it up - Burda has this trim periodically and I always want to try it but get afraid of certain failure. Thanks for taking the time.
7/25/12 5:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us