SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3262 (A-line skirt view C)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1218 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 81
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/05 10:43 PM
Last Updated:1/2/05 11:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Irene said...
I suggest that you go up a size. Darts control the difference between a smaller place (waist) and larger place (hips). It looks like the skirt needs more ease at both waist and hips, so pick a size that will give you nice ease at the hips. Then add darts if you need to pinch in for the waist. HTH!
1/3/05 8:37 PM
mag said...
I think that is a good pattern for tall galls. Once you perfect the fit you may be very happy with it. I would keep it without the darts, and just add a little ease to the pattern at the waist. Cut the waistband to your exact waist measure, (plus seam allowances/and overlap you desire), then ease the skirt in.
1/3/05 7:25 PM
AnneM said...
Higher waists are coming back in style, if that is any comfort. :) I can see the tightness in the picture, but agree that a tunic sweater would probably solve it looks wise (although I don't know about comfort wise). In another month, after that holiday pie disappears, it should fit like a charm!
1/3/05 7:18 PM
Tailypo said...
Thanks, it doesn't look as tight in the picture as it does in the mirror -- what really bugs me is the fact that I have to have the waistband so high for the skirt to zip. So if I sew it again, darts and lengthen the waistband? I really do find it kinda neat, learning bits and pieces about garment construction through failures and successes. Sewing is really fun!
1/3/05 3:05 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Yup, I agree - darts are the way to go to fit better and look slimmer. I think your skirt still is wearable - maybe with a jacket or sweater? And it looks fab with your boots, too!
1/3/05 12:22 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Well, I don't think the fit is as bad as you do. You can, fortunately, hide the waistband with a long shirt. I like your dart idea- curvy people like us need lots of darts!
1/3/05 9:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Pamela's Patterns #104

photo
by: PattyE

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info