SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3262 (A-line skirt view C)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1215 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 80
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/05 10:43 PM
Last Updated:1/2/05 11:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Anne said...
Well, I don't think the fit is as bad as you do. You can, fortunately, hide the waistband with a long shirt. I like your dart idea- curvy people like us need lots of darts!
1/3/05 9:29 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Yup, I agree - darts are the way to go to fit better and look slimmer. I think your skirt still is wearable - maybe with a jacket or sweater? And it looks fab with your boots, too!
1/3/05 12:22 PM
Tailypo said...
Thanks, it doesn't look as tight in the picture as it does in the mirror -- what really bugs me is the fact that I have to have the waistband so high for the skirt to zip. So if I sew it again, darts and lengthen the waistband? I really do find it kinda neat, learning bits and pieces about garment construction through failures and successes. Sewing is really fun!
1/3/05 3:05 PM
AnneM said...
Higher waists are coming back in style, if that is any comfort. :) I can see the tightness in the picture, but agree that a tunic sweater would probably solve it looks wise (although I don't know about comfort wise). In another month, after that holiday pie disappears, it should fit like a charm!
1/3/05 7:18 PM
mag said...
I think that is a good pattern for tall galls. Once you perfect the fit you may be very happy with it. I would keep it without the darts, and just add a little ease to the pattern at the waist. Cut the waistband to your exact waist measure, (plus seam allowances/and overlap you desire), then ease the skirt in.
1/3/05 7:25 PM
Irene said...
I suggest that you go up a size. Darts control the difference between a smaller place (waist) and larger place (hips). It looks like the skirt needs more ease at both waist and hips, so pick a size that will give you nice ease at the hips. Then add darts if you need to pinch in for the waist. HTH!
1/3/05 8:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now