SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8813 (Misses' Dress )

17 more reviews
Viewed 938 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/12 8:13 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renata said...
Your creative and artistic touches always take your dresses to a new level. This is another pattern in my list for next summer. Really quite stunning.
7/10/13 8:21 AM
a7yrstitch said...
Love your dress. The more I read on the Marcy Tilton site, the more I think that her patterns are only intended to be a guide or a suggestion on a design. Your modifications are super. I'll definitely be double checking your notes when laying my fabric out on the cutting table. Those pockets! The originals - a hazard to someone like me, I'm always catching things on kitchen cabinet knobs. Yours - beautiful and functional. Woo-hoo, thank you for a great review and for sharing your artistry.
8/30/12 1:14 PM
KarlaB said...
Wow! What a beautiful, creative, artistic job you have done on this dress! It is really cute, and looks so comfy, too!
7/22/12 10:58 PM
salsera7 said...
Wow. You did a great job on this pattern....truly above and beyond.
7/22/12 7:49 AM
marthamyers said...
Such a great version of this pattern. I simply have to move this pattern to the top of the queue. Thanks for the review and fun inspiration. I'll return to this and your blog when I make it. Great job!
7/21/12 10:38 PM
beth5646 said...
Oh Jilly---how glorious!! I love your version. Superb.
7/21/12 10:37 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you everyone! I really am enjoying this dress now.....just need shoes....next quest = shoes.....
7/21/12 2:42 PM
sfshaza said...
Jillian, you made this work, and more! I played with silk screening a couple years ago and my results were nowhere as nice. And it really pulls the fabrics together. Wonderful!
7/21/12 11:39 AM
marec said...
Jilly, this is so adorable on you and I admire how you found creative solutions as you worked on this. The silk screening is especially nice, and the fit is wonderful. You look ready to island hop.
7/21/12 10:33 AM
Mary Gillette said...
You've taken a really cute pattern and made it wonderful! WOW!
7/21/12 9:53 AM
DorothyK said...
Jilly, your version of this dress is fabulous. I'm in awe of your silkscreening ability. Great job!
7/21/12 9:43 AM
imsewcrazy said...
EXTRAORDINARY!!!
7/21/12 8:40 AM
VivianZ said...
i love the results you ended with. Took a while, but desperate inspirations can sometimes be the best plan of action,
7/21/12 7:46 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I bet some Young Things might want this Li'l Ole Lady dress! How fun!
7/21/12 7:45 AM
piffle said...
*Gasp* Absolutely wonderful!
7/21/12 7:36 AM
dorothyn said...
Wow, despite the painful journey, the end result is fantastic! This looks like something you would find in Anthropologie for $300! Just marvelous.
7/21/12 5:05 AM
Camerio said...
Love the work you did with the fabric and it makes for a very beautiful dress
7/21/12 3:48 AM
Barbara V said...
Jilly, your dress is awesome. The combination of fabrics, ruffled hem, unique pocket treatment and silk screening put this dress into a "one of a kind" category and suits you wonderfully. I'm thinking you derived a great sense of pleasure as you worked through the creative processes! You look great in it!
7/20/12 10:37 PM
Elcue said...
Your changes made me like this dress.
7/20/12 9:57 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Oh my!! Your dress is sooooo cute! I am always afraid that I am going to embellish and make things worse. Your embellishments, fabric choice...everything is spot on!
7/20/12 8:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-27

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2907

photo
by: wendlesue

Review