SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> 2045 (Bra)

Viewed 264 times 
Reviewed by:catalak
photo

 
 
About catalakstar
WI USA
Member since: 7/4/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/12 6:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Neat! What a clever use of materials! I've never used this bra pattern, but I agree with you about the excellence of the old reliable S&S patterns. They're the ones I still prefer; I just borrow details from newer patterns.
8/4/12 7:01 PM
Laurasews said...
Great combination of fabrics. Could you share your notion resources? I am having trouble finding straps in the right colors
8/4/12 8:15 PM
Laurasews said...
Great combination of fabrics. Could you share your notion resources? I am having trouble finding straps in the right colors
8/4/12 8:15 PM
Renren said...
Those are some unexpected color choices but they certainly add pizzazz to the project. Thanks so much where you've provided the sourcing of materials. Very much appreciated.
8/4/12 9:04 PM
sewing for fun said...
I have this bra pattern in my stash, will have to see if i can upsize the cups. I LOVE using athletic mesh for the cups... I have a stash of boring white mesh, but i love your hot pink and need to locate some new sources. If I could find NYLON mesh, then I could dye the powernet, mesh and elastic to match. Love your bras! Keep at it and thanks for reviewing this pattern!
8/4/12 11:02 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
Great bra! I love the combo of colors and trim. My fav bra resources are sewsassy.com and fabricdepotco.com.
8/5/12 8:06 AM
catalak said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments. Just go to Ebay and search for girdle fabric for the powernet, and athletic mesh for the cup fabric. The athletic mesh stays beautiful wash after wash as does the powernet. Sew Sassy has everything else that you would need. Just be inventive with colors and stretch lace and elastics. I've got to try dyeing the powernet and strapping to match the cup fabric. Haven't tried that yet! What dye do you use?
8/5/12 8:52 AM
Timmithea said...
Nice job!
8/5/12 12:03 PM
sewing for fun said...
As for dyes for nylon, I have tried a bunch! I have used unsweetened kool-aid, tee, coffee, Rit and some acid dyes from dharma trading company. If using Rit or kool aid, remember to also use vinegar to set the dye. It held up well through many washings. Any acid dye that is good for nylon is good. The elastics, fabric, lace, and underwire casing take up different amounts of dye at different speeds. If you use nylon thread to sew a white bra, you can dye it after you make it. Polyester thread will not dye.
8/5/12 5:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 1891 - 1956 OOP Blouses

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now