SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 173224-1000 (Designer Handbags)

Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Handbag Contest
Viewed 513 times 
Reviewed by:Lynn WA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynn WAstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/27/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/12 12:16 PM
Last Updated:8/10/12 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Butter Bean said...
Absolutely spectacular! I love it. You've inspired me.
9/12/12 6:36 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I love everything about this lovely creation of yours!
9/12/12 5:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this in the hoop bag. Color combinations are very attractive.
8/28/12 12:24 PM
sewme47 said...
Super job! Looks so professional.
8/20/12 12:48 PM
maria 6705 said...
Beautiful bag!
8/17/12 7:13 PM
Mrs4Him said...
Very nice--awesome job!
8/17/12 5:43 PM
Aroura said...
Really love this bag!!
8/17/12 3:03 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love it!
8/17/12 9:28 AM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Lynn, This bag is just great! Even better in person but the detail shows nicely in the photo.
8/16/12 11:03 PM
Lynn WA said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! This was my first review and it wasn't as intimidating as I thought it would be!
8/16/12 9:44 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I might have to try this out on my embroisery unit, yours turned out lovely!
8/15/12 12:06 PM
Lynn WA said...
SheBear0320 - I cut the straps 2" wide and used a medium weight iron on interfacing for the entire width. I folded it in 1/2" on each side; then I cut a 1" strip (yellow), interfaced it as well, folded it 1/4" on each side, laid it over the center of the wider strap and seweed along each edge. It was easy to do and the best part was no turning a tube yet all the raw edges are enclosed.
8/13/12 1:15 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Amazing bag -- looks very expensive. Did you use anything in the handles or are they just 2 layers of fabric.
8/12/12 7:46 PM
whistlin dixie said...
A very nice bag! I like the combinations of colors, fabrics and embroidery.
8/11/12 11:47 PM
bijou90 said...
Fabulous bag, excellent embroidery.
8/11/12 11:43 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Gorgeous boutique looking bag. Just beautiful!
8/11/12 9:49 AM
Scheri said...
What a beautiful bag.......very stylish
8/11/12 2:23 AM
carolynw said...
This is one BEAUTIFUL bag - I bet you would have to pay one heck of a lot for it in any upscale store- I am totally in love with it.
8/10/12 11:24 PM
marthamyers said...
Such an interesting approach to machine embroidery. I've been watching this on Sewing With Nancy. It's so cool to see your version!
8/10/12 8:34 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous!
8/10/12 7:25 PM
Lynn WA said...
HDWen, I updated the link to the handbag software, so check it out! They still have it, just on a different page.
8/10/12 4:27 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Very pretty. I seen this bag/embroidery completed on Sewing with Nancy. Nancy had as a guest Eileen Roche who showed how this bag was machine embroidered and put together. You did a great job.
8/10/12 4:01 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous!
8/10/12 2:40 PM
HDWen said...
I went to the link to look for the Kit you bought, but she's not got anymore. What all comes with it? Every time I look in the gallery this is the bag I drool over! :-)
8/10/12 12:41 PM
Kathy7661 said...
Nicely done, great bag!
8/10/12 10:47 AM
Annie P said...
Great bag!
8/10/12 0:50 AM
Lynn WA said...
The straps are attached rather ingeniously! A placement square is embroidered on the bag, then the strap is added and sewn down in a square with an X through it - several times so it's very strong. Then the fabric covering is placed over the strap and embroidered. Everything is firmly held in place.
8/9/12 5:01 PM
lo_j said...
Lovely! I like the choice of interior fabrics, too.
8/9/12 3:53 PM
BJ1400 said...
That is very cute! How are the straps attached?
8/9/12 3:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Lovely
8/9/12 2:34 PM
HDWen said...
Beautiful colors, I love how the handles just pop against the bag!
8/9/12 1:31 PM
pdiddly said...
beautiful
8/9/12 1:28 PM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful!
8/9/12 12:36 PM
marec said...
That is just marvelous!
8/9/12 12:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5786

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now