Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V1208 (Pullover Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 450 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:tracyH2
photo
About tracyH2
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/29/11
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/12 12:32 PM
Last Updated:2/2/14 4:44 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: V1208 by tracyH2

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by tracyH2

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: fitted, above mid knee, pullover, lined dress, bias cut, has gathered forward shoulder at left side with box and knot. Right side has drop shoulder.

Pattern Sizing: Misses/petite 14 to 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes but pattern rather than plain colour and larger size than model in pic gave it a different look

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes but limited as did not give any guidance regarding using or cutting bias fabric or any guidance regarding seam finishes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Only 2 pieces for dress and 2 for bow, quick to make. The instructions for adding the lining were ok and for the hem finish where good. Although I had a little difficult in trying to mark a straight hem due to the bias cut. I would have liked some guidance re using bias cut fabric and seams finishes. Instructions did not mention leaving the garment to hang overnight before trying to hem it (as many manuals advise).

Fabric Used: Was not sure how successful this would be so for first attempt opted for a very reasonable priced polyester satin in a bold print as its Summer. The lining was Bremsilk (which cost nearly double the price of the outer fabric - but its worth it).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Only those neccesary to fit my shape better i.e. shorten length and widened side seams through waist and tummy.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes but would properly use a draper fabric.

Conclusion: I made this to wear as a guest at a summer wedding to see me through from the day to the evening do and with a view to wearing it on other occasions, which I am sure I will. It looks better on than on my dolly (sorry I'm not a great at taking pics) and feels great.

I did think twice about buying this pattern as its in Vogue's designer range and seemed very expensive for a two piece pattern dress but I had never made a bias cut dress before and the dress was lined so I thought I could learn a few new things and I also got the pattern with half price discount. I now know where I was going wrong when I've added a lining to other dresses which did not include a lining in the pattern but I do not think it is worth paying the full price.

The pattern is easy to follow and quick to make but I would not say it was for complete beginners given the bias cut and the limited instruction.
I made the bag entered into the August Handbag challenge to go with this dress.

Seeing the handbag challenge on this site encouraged me to have a go and make a bag to complete the outfit and I have posted a review on that aslo.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Looks like a lovely dress for summer! I like your print.
8/9/12 3:15 PM
grays08 said...
Great job and nice fabric - great colors!
8/11/12 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Hollywood 1787
photo
Review by Nick D on 9/13/11
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Maychi on 3/15/09
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us