SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Drape Drape Dress no 3 (Drape Drape Dress no 3 )

3 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo

 
 
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:8/19/12 6:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
flyawayhair said...
I just made my first version (definitely a muslin) of this dress. Coming up a bit perplexed....did you have tucks show up at the end of the front waist seams (not the gathers)? Seems like I did something wrong or need to grade that seam more like a dart.
3/10/13 6:35 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Great print placement, thanks for the review
8/21/12 1:20 AM
valerie sews said...
Thanks Sassy T. I fixed the link.
8/19/12 6:46 PM
Sassy T said...
Lovely dress. Link doesn't go to your blog though.
8/19/12 6:04 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great dress, Valerie! I've tried one pattern from that book and had a problem but you definitely got it right!
8/16/12 8:55 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress, Valerie!
8/16/12 5:45 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress looks fabulous on you - am in love with your fabric
8/16/12 2:40 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress looks fabulous on you - am in love with your fabric
8/16/12 2:39 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Valerie - thanks so much for responding! I'm a Burda 42, too, so that this fit you makes me feel SO much better! thanks!
8/16/12 9:51 AM
valerie sews said...
thank you so much ladies. Squirrelypoo I normally sew a big four 12-14 hybrid, taking things out a tiny bit at the waist and shortening hems. In burda I am a size 42. My material was a soft quite drapey cotton/lycra with moderate stretch. I did a tiny seam at the centre back then took it in half a centimetre. Give it a go. The sizing is not as tiny as I thought.
8/16/12 8:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for reviewing this! Can you give any more information about what size you normally sew and how the Drape Drape sizes compared? I really want to sew this but I'm scrared XL will still be too small!
8/16/12 7:30 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice dress -- what an interesting cut, and it looks great on you!
8/16/12 5:54 AM
sunnysewer said...
I really like it and now am intrigued by this book. well done.
8/16/12 1:10 AM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous rendition of this pattern, very clever and very pretty.
8/15/12 9:22 PM
miausiau said...
I love that. The gathered details make it special and your fabric choice is perfect. I must take another look at that book!
8/15/12 9:21 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!!! Stunning dress, you look fabulous!!!
8/15/12 8:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Just one click on your thumbnail and what an enviably attractive dress on you, Valerie. You dazzle in this!
8/15/12 8:11 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! Very interesting pattern! Very pretty too!
8/15/12 8:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Lingerie Secrets The Smoothie Pantie

photo
by: Holmar

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now