SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5567 (Misses' Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 144 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/12 11:43 AM
Last Updated:8/22/12 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
norie creates said...
I love your husband's comment...your body deserves better. I wish my husband could be this tactful! Too bad it didn't work out but you did choose a wonderful color : )
8/26/12 10:45 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
Thanks for the photo. Your comments to your husband is so funny. I have this pattern and I had no doubts about how it will turn out. I think I'll pass on this one.
8/23/12 12:00 PM
Fran G said...
Your blog review for this jacket is hysterical!! Your husband made very tactful comments and I LOVE the little "joke" comment between you and your husband! SavageCoco's comment was perfect!!!!!! On to your next project!
8/23/12 8:04 AM
SavageCoco said...
Been there. Time for cocktails. No jacket required.
8/23/12 1:27 AM
zoe said...
Great colour ; you are right that it could use more shape; but I have to agree with Cissie; nothing looks terrible on you.
8/22/12 9:33 PM
ArtAttack said...
Live and learn...or make that sew and learn! I do like the color...:)
8/22/12 4:58 PM
SewWil said...
I feel your pain! We've all been there. The color looks great on you. You have an amazing track record for your nearly one year of sewing so please don't let this discourage you. Glad you learned something from this project.
8/22/12 4:23 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
JTink, I appreciate this comment! I do love the color as well!
8/22/12 3:10 PM
JTink said...
Well, I for one think this looks great on you. The color is wonderful and the fit is lovely.
8/22/12 3:03 PM
CissieW said...
Nothing looks "terrible" on you! But I understand your dissatisfaction. Live and learn -- and on to the next project! I have also taken that pledge not to buy a pattern unless a real, live person is modeling it!
8/22/12 2:12 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I agree! This pattern had only one review which was a vest so I thought I'd try it since the pattern was in my stash. I've said I'm not buying anymore patterns that are illustrated rather than photographed on a model and I am sticking to it!
8/22/12 2:03 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I so understand your frustration, as I had a parallel experience myself this week. Sometimes the pattern drawings are just not to scale and the end result does not turn out as depicted no matter how much you try and tweak it. That's one of the things I love about this website...photos of finished projects on real people. Now when I see that a pattern is reviewed by many people and gets lots of positive comments, I realize that it's for a good reason...it's a great pattern to begin with! Instead of feeling like I'm being a copycat, I'll sew the pattern with confidence and personalize it with my fabric selection.
8/22/12 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1011

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

More Info
Kwik Sew 3873

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review

Pattern