Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5567 (Misses' Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 450 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/12 11:43 AM
Last Updated:8/22/12 1:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
I so understand your frustration, as I had a parallel experience myself this week. Sometimes the pattern drawings are just not to scale and the end result does not turn out as depicted no matter how much you try and tweak it. That's one of the things I love about this website...photos of finished projects on real people. Now when I see that a pattern is reviewed by many people and gets lots of positive comments, I realize that it's for a good reason...it's a great pattern to begin with! Instead of feeling like I'm being a copycat, I'll sew the pattern with confidence and personalize it with my fabric selection.
8/22/12 1:52 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I agree! This pattern had only one review which was a vest so I thought I'd try it since the pattern was in my stash. I've said I'm not buying anymore patterns that are illustrated rather than photographed on a model and I am sticking to it!
8/22/12 2:03 PM
CissieW said...
Nothing looks "terrible" on you! But I understand your dissatisfaction. Live and learn -- and on to the next project! I have also taken that pledge not to buy a pattern unless a real, live person is modeling it!
8/22/12 2:12 PM
JTink said...
Well, I for one think this looks great on you. The color is wonderful and the fit is lovely.
8/22/12 3:03 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
JTink, I appreciate this comment! I do love the color as well!
8/22/12 3:10 PM
SewWil said...
I feel your pain! We've all been there. The color looks great on you. You have an amazing track record for your nearly one year of sewing so please don't let this discourage you. Glad you learned something from this project.
8/22/12 4:23 PM
ArtAttack said...
Live and learn...or make that sew and learn! I do like the color...:)
8/22/12 4:58 PM
zoe said...
Great colour ; you are right that it could use more shape; but I have to agree with Cissie; nothing looks terrible on you.
8/22/12 9:33 PM
SavageCoco said...
Been there. Time for cocktails. No jacket required.
8/23/12 1:27 AM
Fran G said...
Your blog review for this jacket is hysterical!! Your husband made very tactful comments and I LOVE the little "joke" comment between you and your husband! SavageCoco's comment was perfect!!!!!! On to your next project!
8/23/12 8:04 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
Thanks for the photo. Your comments to your husband is so funny. I have this pattern and I had no doubts about how it will turn out. I think I'll pass on this one.
8/23/12 12:00 PM
norie creates said...
I love your husband's comment...your body deserves better. I wish my husband could be this tactful! Too bad it didn't work out but you did choose a wonderful color : )
8/26/12 10:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2449 trench coat
photo
Review by valerie se... on 7/1/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6483 misses top
photo
Review by Nana27 on 5/16/13
Read Review

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us