SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

41 more reviews
Viewed 970 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/27/12 12:13 PM
Last Updated:8/27/12 12:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
How did I miss this? Your dress is beautiful. I love your fabric. Great job. I'm about to cut this pattern.
9/26/12 4:12 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Kias2- that is exactly what I was afraid would happen with the top stitching on my knit fabric and why I left the facings exposed. In the end it turned out to be a great solution. An update after the first wearing; I decided the armscyes and cap sleeve openings were too large so I took an additional inch off the small sleeve underarm seams, continuing down the bodice side seams and tapering to the point where the pleats begin. This had the added benefit of fixing the bit of gap I was experiencing at the bodice criss cross.
9/2/12 10:30 AM
kias2 said...
I am in the middle of making this. Thanks for the tip about the facings. Mine looked perfect until I turned them under and top-stitched. I was shocked when I checked - all wavy and stretched. Help !!!! Just thrown it to the side and looked at this site for any hints. I do, however think it is a great pattern. Yours has inspired me to finish it.
9/1/12 1:12 PM
Mlandry said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/29/12 8:29 AM
JudyMac said...
I love the exposed facings on the neckline and sleeves!
8/28/12 2:07 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful! I just got this pattern in the mail yesterday thanks for the great review.
8/28/12 9:46 AM
couturemom said...
Looks like you did a great job on the sewing. The pleats lay beautifully.
8/28/12 9:01 AM
QuikSew said...
Beautiful dress. I would not have guessed that the trim was an error and not planned. You did a great job!
8/28/12 8:33 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a beautiful job.
8/28/12 7:03 AM
Scheri said...
Wow did not think I liked tjis pattern but your dress has chsnged my mind. Great job and what a nice fabric.
8/28/12 1:57 AM
Ms. McCall said...
Fabulous dress, it looks very very well made - worth the time spent unpicking!
8/28/12 0:30 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute dress! I love your fabric and you're making me look (again) at this pattern even though I don't wear dresses very often.
8/27/12 8:21 PM
Christas said...
Your dress is so nice & very pretty! Wonderful fabric choice, too!
8/27/12 7:56 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love the exposed facings and never would have guessed that it wasn't a planned design element. The textured fabric is so nice too!
8/27/12 5:45 PM
canei said...
Very nice!!!
8/27/12 4:39 PM
marec said...
Great looking dress-and pockets!
8/27/12 3:00 PM
sewnaughty said...
Beautiful dress I love the finishing on the neck and sleeve.
8/27/12 2:59 PM
BillieJean said...
This is a beautiful dress. Love the pockets!
8/27/12 2:00 PM
MNBarb said...
This looks like a winning pattern. I have found that NL tend to run large in the shoulder/bodice area.
8/27/12 1:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: NottaWadde...

Review
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2508

photo
by: emr

Review