SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

41 more reviews
Viewed 961 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 116 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/27/12 12:13 PM
Last Updated:8/27/12 12:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
This looks like a winning pattern. I have found that NL tend to run large in the shoulder/bodice area.
8/27/12 1:03 PM
BillieJean said...
This is a beautiful dress. Love the pockets!
8/27/12 2:00 PM
sewnaughty said...
Beautiful dress I love the finishing on the neck and sleeve.
8/27/12 2:59 PM
marec said...
Great looking dress-and pockets!
8/27/12 3:00 PM
canei said...
Very nice!!!
8/27/12 4:39 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love the exposed facings and never would have guessed that it wasn't a planned design element. The textured fabric is so nice too!
8/27/12 5:45 PM
Christas said...
Your dress is so nice & very pretty! Wonderful fabric choice, too!
8/27/12 7:56 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute dress! I love your fabric and you're making me look (again) at this pattern even though I don't wear dresses very often.
8/27/12 8:21 PM
Ms. McCall said...
Fabulous dress, it looks very very well made - worth the time spent unpicking!
8/28/12 0:30 AM
Scheri said...
Wow did not think I liked tjis pattern but your dress has chsnged my mind. Great job and what a nice fabric.
8/28/12 1:57 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a beautiful job.
8/28/12 7:03 AM
QuikSew said...
Beautiful dress. I would not have guessed that the trim was an error and not planned. You did a great job!
8/28/12 8:33 AM
couturemom said...
Looks like you did a great job on the sewing. The pleats lay beautifully.
8/28/12 9:01 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful! I just got this pattern in the mail yesterday thanks for the great review.
8/28/12 9:46 AM
JudyMac said...
I love the exposed facings on the neckline and sleeves!
8/28/12 2:07 PM
Mlandry said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/29/12 8:29 AM
kias2 said...
I am in the middle of making this. Thanks for the tip about the facings. Mine looked perfect until I turned them under and top-stitched. I was shocked when I checked - all wavy and stretched. Help !!!! Just thrown it to the side and looked at this site for any hints. I do, however think it is a great pattern. Yours has inspired me to finish it.
9/1/12 1:12 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Kias2- that is exactly what I was afraid would happen with the top stitching on my knit fabric and why I left the facings exposed. In the end it turned out to be a great solution. An update after the first wearing; I decided the armscyes and cap sleeve openings were too large so I took an additional inch off the small sleeve underarm seams, continuing down the bodice side seams and tapering to the point where the pleats begin. This had the added benefit of fixing the bit of gap I was experiencing at the bodice criss cross.
9/2/12 10:30 AM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this? Your dress is beautiful. I love your fabric. Great job. I'm about to cut this pattern.
9/26/12 4:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now