SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3828 (Coats)

Viewed 349 times 
Reviewed by:iSewQuiltArt
photo

 
 
About iSewQuiltArtstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/12 3:21 AM
Last Updated:8/30/12 4:39 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
This is the coat I would want sitting on the sidelines watching the kids playing soccer or netball!! Yes, a smaller size would be a good idea next time but for now this one is still a keeper.
9/3/12 2:31 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
marec, when unbuttoned the whole thing spilts diagonally apart, and is HUGE!! Thanks for the good ideas here people!
8/30/12 6:09 PM
marec said...
This fab coat will be great in cold weather and I think the fit is good, except for the issue you mentioned with the shoulders. Shoulder pads would help as others have said. I wore a similar coat in a wool for years and it's slouchy feel was perfect for casual cold days. How is the fit when unbuttoned?
8/30/12 10:14 AM
lynny said...
Stephanie your coat looks warm and cosy, and lovely on you, definitely a keeper. As Vonne said, let the memory of sewing it fade and I think you will love it.
8/30/12 7:56 AM
Dilliander said...
It looks lovely Stephanie. I agree with the others, shoulder pads can make all the difference. There are also different shapes and sizes of shoulder pads, so you could experiment. Covering them in rayon lining or similar works well for me and Sue's suggestion of Velcro means they can be detached for washing.
8/30/12 5:26 AM
Vonnevo said...
Stephanie, this coat looks cosy and fabulous !! I agree with Sue's suggestion, a shoulder pad would provide a nice shoulder line and more arm space by lifting the shoulder section. The buttons are are a gorgous match. After a few days away from taming this fleece, the coat may become a favourite - it looks lovely :)
8/30/12 5:11 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
QSSS that's a VERY good idea. Thanks!
8/30/12 4:36 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
iSQA - I love your coat and I would wear it. The only suggestion I could think of is to try a shoulder pad in the shoulder area and see if it fills the bit that has collapsed a little. If you decide to use them, cover them in a suitable fabric and velcro them in if you plan to wash your coat. HTH
8/30/12 4:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

More Info
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info