SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 312 (Giorgio's top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 908 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo

 
 
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/12 9:46 AM
Last Updated:9/12/12 6:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Thanks for this review. Your top looks very nice although it's hard to see the detail in the black. I do have this pattern along with 3 others from the spring collection, and I have to say I wanted to sew this top but couldn't figure out my size from the size tables. Thanks so much for the info on sizing--it will help me figure out how to proceed. (Love those leopard pants, too!)
9/12/12 9:56 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I sure would love to see a close up of your new top. The picture that opens is super tiny and when I enlarge my screen it's blurry. I hope you can fix it because it looks like you have a fabulous outfit on. :-)
9/12/12 12:51 PM
Restart06 said...
Thanks for the review. I also have this pattern, but haven't cut it do to the size question. It looks great on you. Thanks also for the link to your blog. This will help me on my mockup. Also love your pants!
9/12/12 2:05 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I have this pattern and have been thinking about using it. I've watched several of Peggy's webcasts on tops, and she says to go down a smaller size in the shoulders and to use your french curve. (she must have been having a bad day when she spoke to you). I know her princess seams fall to the side of the bust; that's her 'design feature'; she's also spoken of this on her webcasts. But I'm like you: I prefer to have the seam run down the middle of my bust. As to pattern sizing, I wrap the fabric around me (like a towel), deciding on the visual ease I want, and measure that amount; which then becomes my designated size. I do have some issues with her bicep measurements, though. Thanks for a very informative review!
9/12/12 2:13 PM
PattyE said...
I wish I could see your top better. I just made this one too. I agree the sizing is a little wonky. In fact I noticed on my pattern envelope the waist measurement was bigger than the bust measurement. I did end up having to take 3" off in the waist. I also added 2" to my sleeves. I love how it turned out but her sizing is strange. I have a couple more of her patterns so I'll see how those go. Anyway, your outfit is lovely.
9/12/12 3:52 PM
Elona said...
In spite of your difficulties with sizing, the top is seriously good looking!
9/12/12 4:17 PM
Dilliander said...
Lovely Nancy! I have this pattern but haven't tackled the sizing learning curve yet. Your tops are great, so must give it a go :)
9/13/12 0:05 AM
grey ann said...
Very nice tops that fit well. I agree with all you say on the sizing. I was in a workshop where Peggy was asked about fitting the 'pear-shape' figure with narrow shoulders. She told us to try on more expensive blouses that would fit better! I don't think she gets it!!! The one blouse of hers that I made was huge in the shoulders. But I am going to try to fit this because I like the style.
9/14/12 9:01 PM
PattiinATL said...
Very stylish. Looks like it was worth the fitting struggles!
12/8/12 9:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 8834

photo
by: mm

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now