Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 3221 (MakeBra) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 221 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Jrhee
photo
About Jrheestar
CA USA
Member since: 8/7/11
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/12 1:29 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Very cute. Thanks for the helpful review!
9/16/12 5:15 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Pretty bra!! I am about to embark on bra making in the next day or so. Thanks for all the info and another great bra making website!!
9/16/12 9:43 AM
ArtAttack said...
OOH...Yummy! Great job! Aren't bras fun? If you need supplies and don't know about bramakerssupply.com check them out. You have motivated me to sew one up I have the supplies for! Thanks!!
9/16/12 12:43 PM
Jrhee said...
Thanks, everyone! ArtAttack, doesn't this look like a piece of candy?!
9/16/12 1:02 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the info on the MakeBra site--and a free panty pattern there, too! Looks like a great site for beginning a bra making adventure.
9/17/12 9:45 AM
ChristianaT said...
Awesome job! Finding the fabrics and supplies will be a challenge for me.
9/17/12 1:17 PM
poppykettle said...
Thanks for your review - I've been carefully watching everyone's bra-making experience as I'm planning at some point to try for myself. I reckon this looks fabulous!! I read somewhere else about whether you even need to have strap adjusters on self-made bras, seeing as they are made specifically for you, and thought that was and interesting POV. I'd love to know if you bought the underwires from makebra, and if so - was the sizing what you expected? Thanks!
9/20/12 10:26 PM
Jrhee said...
Poppykettle, thanks for the comment - I am a huge fan of your exquisite work! I recycled underwires from an old bra that I didn't wear anymore for this bra, as it was really just a muslin. (and along the same lines, I think I will make proper bra straps for the next one too.) I found the customer service with Annele at MakeBra very good, and the international shipping was very reasonable, and I very well might order some from her. There is also the bramakerssupply.com mentioned, and another PR member suggested www.sewsassy.com, which is a US company. Sew Sassy has the lengths listed for their underwires, and they have bra elastics and trims for 20cents per yard. I think I might have to give them a try too. The bramakerssupply website says that too-long underwires can be cut and epoxied to the right length. BTW, I am an engineer by day also (mechanical, though) and have no qualms about cutting, shearing, sanding, and epoxying hard bits, so I might try ordering on the big side and modifying if necessary.
9/21/12 11:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1006
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/17/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6607
photo
Review by JGillentin... on 11/9/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us