SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2733 (Dress)

Viewed 1037 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 214
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/12 5:30 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

boutiquefabric.com


High end fashion fabrics
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clothingengineer said...
sewnotwork - I ended up not needing the narrow shoulder adjustment so I'm not sure if how I did it is "correct". I did my broad back adjustment 1/2 way down the back armscye, and just continued sloping the line inward for the narrow shoulders. I admit I just draw the line freehand. Maybe this drawing better explains it: https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/QdxoYfNnfy0mforc1OcNI3YdrcV4ASRU1WknBYx_9eM?feat=directlink
10/24/12 8:31 AM
sewnotwork said...
How do you do a broad back adjustment and a narrow shoulder adjustment? I have the same problem!
10/24/12 0:01 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Lovely colour, style and fit on you, a TNT for sure
10/1/12 7:40 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
The dress is beautiful, the color is amazing!
9/29/12 11:12 PM
Scheri said...
What a great review? Both dresses are beautiful.
9/29/12 3:38 AM
velosewer said...
Both versions are wonderful. Great dresses and thoughtful review.
9/28/12 9:33 PM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning dress, meticulous fit!!
9/28/12 9:07 PM
Clareew said...
Your dress is so beautiful. The fit especially on the back, is to die for. Well done.
9/28/12 3:14 PM
clothingengineer said...
Re Becca - the front seam is still there, but for some reason it doesn't show well in the photo. If you zoom in you can very faintly see it below the bust.
9/28/12 1:22 PM
cindyann said...
The fit is just perfection!
9/28/12 12:30 PM
Re Becca said...
Even more stunning than the first! I have to ask, how did you make the center front seam disapear? Did you tak it completely out of the body and only have the pleating in the top overlay?
9/28/12 10:37 AM
KathleenS said...
Great dress!
9/28/12 6:14 AM
Sewtox said...
Absolutely lovely.
9/28/12 5:19 AM
petro said...
Lovely dress! Everything perfect.
9/28/12 2:07 AM
Immelu said...
Wow, that looks fantastic! Both versions!!!
9/27/12 11:14 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very chic dresses; the purple is my favourite. Your work is impressive. I think you should upgrade your skill level to Advanced.
9/27/12 10:35 PM
miausiau said...
Great follow up...just gorgeous!
9/27/12 8:16 PM
tsedai said...
Wow! This looks amazing.
9/24/12 2:51 PM
Susan C said...
You look stunning in this dress! Nice work!
9/23/12 6:01 PM
lamstu said...
All the fitting was worth it - what a wonderful dress. And the style is very flattering for you too.
9/22/12 8:39 PM
dresscode said...
If you google "Gladson Limited" there is interesting info about that textile company.
9/22/12 4:38 PM
Levone said...
Excellent review and beautiful dress! It looks wonderful on you.
9/22/12 12:22 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Fits you perfectly.
9/22/12 11:47 AM
redside said...
Beautiful neckline!
9/22/12 10:08 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Gorgeous! Your dress looks amazing and fits you perfectly. I can't wait to see your next versions of it
9/22/12 9:34 AM
lilikats said...
I have had my eye on this dress in the Marfy design book. Looks fabulous on you, definitely worth the work you put in!
9/22/12 9:10 AM
cleverkitty said...
Gorgeous dress!!!! The fit is perfect.
9/22/12 8:36 AM
JEF said...
Wow, lovely dress.
9/22/12 6:29 AM
marymary86 said...
I'm in awe of your sewing skills and your ability to choose a pattern that flatters you so well.
9/21/12 11:12 PM
sewin said...
Love this dress on you. So elegant.
9/21/12 9:37 PM
miausiau said...
This is very flattering. I suppose the front slit could be converted to a pleat or an inset in the back with pleating that mimics the detail on front...just some ideas for the malfunction issue. You've done a beautiful job.
9/21/12 8:54 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! Totally perfect fit! I have this cut out and I agree wiht you about the neckline looking wide. As the pattern is, the inner edge of the neckline lines up with the bust point so it will be need to be altered on most people.
9/21/12 7:31 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful dress on you. I love all the details!
9/21/12 6:35 PM
karen n said...
Oh my gosh that is perfect on you! I really like the front vent and think it adds a neat design twist. Very flattering on you.
9/21/12 5:52 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Gorgeous! Lots of work and thoughtfulness went into this. Great work!!
9/21/12 5:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Enid Gilchrist

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Vogue Patterns 1117

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now