Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2733 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 996 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 186
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 176
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/12 5:30 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 6:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
Gorgeous! Lots of work and thoughtfulness went into this. Great work!!
9/21/12 5:40 PM
karen n said...
Oh my gosh that is perfect on you! I really like the front vent and think it adds a neat design twist. Very flattering on you.
9/21/12 5:52 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful dress on you. I love all the details!
9/21/12 6:35 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! Totally perfect fit! I have this cut out and I agree wiht you about the neckline looking wide. As the pattern is, the inner edge of the neckline lines up with the bust point so it will be need to be altered on most people.
9/21/12 7:31 PM
miausiau said...
This is very flattering. I suppose the front slit could be converted to a pleat or an inset in the back with pleating that mimics the detail on front...just some ideas for the malfunction issue. You've done a beautiful job.
9/21/12 8:54 PM
sewin said...
Love this dress on you. So elegant.
9/21/12 9:37 PM
marymary86 said...
I'm in awe of your sewing skills and your ability to choose a pattern that flatters you so well.
9/21/12 11:12 PM
JEF said...
Wow, lovely dress.
9/22/12 6:29 AM
cleverkitty said...
Gorgeous dress!!!! The fit is perfect.
9/22/12 8:36 AM
lilikats said...
I have had my eye on this dress in the Marfy design book. Looks fabulous on you, definitely worth the work you put in!
9/22/12 9:10 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Gorgeous! Your dress looks amazing and fits you perfectly. I can't wait to see your next versions of it
9/22/12 9:34 AM
redside said...
Beautiful neckline!
9/22/12 10:08 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Fits you perfectly.
9/22/12 11:47 AM
Levone said...
Excellent review and beautiful dress! It looks wonderful on you.
9/22/12 12:22 PM
dresscode said...
If you google "Gladson Limited" there is interesting info about that textile company.
9/22/12 4:38 PM
lamstu said...
All the fitting was worth it - what a wonderful dress. And the style is very flattering for you too.
9/22/12 8:39 PM
Susan C said...
You look stunning in this dress! Nice work!
9/23/12 6:01 PM
tsedai said...
Wow! This looks amazing.
9/24/12 2:51 PM
miausiau said...
Great follow up...just gorgeous!
9/27/12 8:16 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very chic dresses; the purple is my favourite. Your work is impressive. I think you should upgrade your skill level to Advanced.
9/27/12 10:35 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, that looks fantastic! Both versions!!!
9/27/12 11:14 PM
petro said...
Lovely dress! Everything perfect.
9/28/12 2:07 AM
Sewtox said...
Absolutely lovely.
9/28/12 5:19 AM
KathleenS said...
Great dress!
9/28/12 6:14 AM
Re Becca said...
Even more stunning than the first! I have to ask, how did you make the center front seam disapear? Did you tak it completely out of the body and only have the pleating in the top overlay?
9/28/12 10:37 AM
cindyann said...
The fit is just perfection!
9/28/12 12:30 PM
clothingengineer said...
Re Becca - the front seam is still there, but for some reason it doesn't show well in the photo. If you zoom in you can very faintly see it below the bust.
9/28/12 1:22 PM
Clareew said...
Your dress is so beautiful. The fit especially on the back, is to die for. Well done.
9/28/12 3:14 PM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning dress, meticulous fit!!
9/28/12 9:07 PM
velosewer said...
Both versions are wonderful. Great dresses and thoughtful review.
9/28/12 9:33 PM
Scheri said...
What a great review? Both dresses are beautiful.
9/29/12 3:38 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
The dress is beautiful, the color is amazing!
9/29/12 11:12 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Lovely colour, style and fit on you, a TNT for sure
10/1/12 7:40 AM
sewnotwork said...
How do you do a broad back adjustment and a narrow shoulder adjustment? I have the same problem!
10/24/12 0:01 AM
clothingengineer said...
sewnotwork - I ended up not needing the narrow shoulder adjustment so I'm not sure if how I did it is "correct". I did my broad back adjustment 1/2 way down the back armscye, and just continued sloping the line inward for the narrow shoulders. I admit I just draw the line freehand. Maybe this drawing better explains it: https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/QdxoYfNnfy0mforc1OcNI3YdrcV4ASRU1WknBYx_9eM?feat=directlink
10/24/12 8:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by c.l.w. on 3/26/12
Read Review

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by petitesewi... on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us