Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Japanese Pattern Books: Stylish Dress Book 1 (Dress E) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 305 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 11:14 PM
Last Updated:10/9/12 10:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Cute, stylish dress! the shape is very current now too. In the review photo, I think this looks good on you, even though you have doubts about the suitability for your figure type.
10/8/12 4:01 AM
mm said...
It looks terrific. I love Japanese styles.
10/8/12 4:38 AM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and it looks pretty on you!
10/8/12 8:04 AM
persevering said...
Yes it is cute on you! How smart of you to keep it above the knee ... so it has a trendy look!
10/8/12 11:00 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You look great in this dress and trimming a little of the excess away if you make it again will only improve it. I do like how it looks on you though...regardless of what your DD says....(wink)
10/8/12 2:58 PM
21wale said...
It's a lovely dress! I have a same quandary - I'm drawn to the styles, yet am disappointed in the bulk when I make them. I think I should just plan ahead of time to add darts and remove width...
10/8/12 3:23 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress and it really does look good on you!
10/8/12 5:49 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm laughing. I'm also drawn to this style and not flattered by it. Being a child of the 60's and 70's may have something to do with it. I love the looseness of this dress. Maybe you would like it better if you dressed it down with casual sandals and a funky necklace (think Woodstock). It's very cute.
10/10/12 7:33 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is so adorable and I think it looks very cute on you. I, too, am so drawn to these patterns, have yet to make one, though! I am too big for them, but am so drawn to the aesthetic!!
10/10/12 9:18 AM
marec said...
I was surprised to read that you think this style doesn't suit you-I was thinking the exact opposite. Cute and really fun for kicking around. I love it.
10/10/12 9:29 AM
cerulean said...
It looks great! I just got this book so I am happy to see how one of the projects turns out! You did a great job!
10/10/12 2:53 PM
jennpflueger said...
HI Justine. For the life of me I can't locate the pocket placement on the front piece of this pattern. Is it marked and pointed out on the master sheet? If so, what color is it in? Any help would be super appreciated! I can guess at it, but thought I'd check first with you. :) if nothing else, how many inches from the hem seam did you place them? Also, do you remember how many inches you took off? I too, have made several japanese patterns all with larger than expected results. I've made XS and size 6 and have taken off several inches each time to get to my size. I appreciate any insight you have around the pocket placement. Thanks a bunch! :)
5/29/13 10:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 1723
photo
Review by Larisa on 1/26/13
Read Review

McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5649 View B
photo
Review by Nikkij on 8/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us