Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: G4 by GVP Ultralight Pack (G4 by GVP Ultralight Pack) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 122 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:annakeeton
photo
Friend of PR
About annakeetonstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/4/09
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:10/14/12 8:07 PM
Last Updated:10/14/12 8:11 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
How did you achieve this pack on a normal sewing machine? It's amazing.
10/15/12 4:48 AM
velosewer said...
Ps. My husband is impressed with your pack too!
10/15/12 4:49 AM
JOshiro said...
Wow! Kudos to you. My husband hiked much of the AT (Georgia to Vermont, so far), and a pack can get some serious wear and tear. Good for you for making one that can be used for serious hiking (ie, carrying a lot of weight!).
10/15/12 11:52 AM
SusiM said...
Super! thanks for the pics and links, too!
10/15/12 2:55 PM
ChristianaT said...
Wow! I hiked the Camino de Santiago de Compostella and we do several day hikes in the Canadian Rockies and I wouldn't have even thought about sewing either of my two back packs. Fantastic job, my big question is where did you find all the supplies and technical fabrics.
10/15/12 6:50 PM
annakeeton said...
Thanks everyone. Velosewer: I think I sewed this on my regular Bernette sewing machine (from the 1990's). A walking foot can help, some people use a teflon foot, others cover the fabric in the seam allowances with pattern tissue paper scraps, to help the fabric feed better. I do use a Kenmore machine (from 60's? 70's?) for projects with thick fabric and/or webbing. ChristianaT: there are a handful of outdoor fabrics stores around the country that offer great selections of fabric, patterns, supplies, and advice/help- The Rain Shed in Corvallis, Oregon, Seattle Fabrics, RockyWoods in Loveland, Colorado are the main 3 I know. They all have websites and you can order fabric swatches. Once you become familiar with the fabrics, sometimes you'll see them pop up in local indie stores, the clearance section of Joann's, etc. Have fun!
10/15/12 7:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 1251
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/23/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3276
photo
Review by Learn To S... on 8/7/06
Read Review

Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us