SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8679 (Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress, Skirt And Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 506 times 
Reviewed by:Marge99
photo

 
 
About Marge99star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/8/10
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/12 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
I like the way it looks now...all distressed and unusual. The neat tailoring turns it into a very chic garment.
10/17/12 10:13 PM
PattyE said...
I love your jacket.
10/17/12 11:18 PM
carolynw said...
Though I am not a great fan of godets in jackets I would have to give this a definite thumbs up - very well fitted even though you say it still needs some tweaking - has a sense of fun - I do like it
10/18/12 0:00 AM
isecondsis said...
Very cool looking jacket. The combination of funky fabric and ladylike style is fantastic.
10/18/12 7:43 AM
NJcowgirl said...
I think the fabric is great. It truly is one-of-a-kind. That's why we sew, right? What a thorough review. I have this pattern but haven't made it up. Thanks to this review I may now attempt it. I love the back effect.
10/18/12 8:25 AM
Dagmar O. said...
Even though you say your fabric choice was just for the sake of a muslin, I feel that the mottled, distressed look really adds to the steampunk styling of the design and lends an added edge. If you get a similar look in a higher quality fabric, I think you would be really happy. Do you mind if I ask how tall you are and whether you normally consider yourself to be long waisted? I read that you lengthened the waist and am wondering if I would need to do the same as I stand at 5'8.5".
10/18/12 8:59 AM
sarahark said...
Love your jacket! Love how the fabric looks in the picture. Very inspirational.
10/18/12 9:04 AM
Marge99 said...
Dagmar, I am 5'6 and I usually add that little bit to the waist as I am slightly long-waisted with short limbs compared to the "Vogue body." If you have a usual waist length adjustment for Vogue patterns, I would guess that it will be fine for this pattern too, but it is probably better to make a test garment to be sure.
10/18/12 9:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
That "test" jacket is fabulous!
10/18/12 9:24 AM
lamstu said...
This toile has an equestrian vibe to it, with the whole funky tie-dye thing - awesome and fun!! can't wait to see your 'real' one.
10/18/12 9:30 AM
karen n said...
I'd definitely wear it out and a lot! I had a tie die dress in these exact colors/pattern and I've held onto it for 20 years I love it so much.
10/18/12 1:02 PM
allycovey said...
I think it is a really cool color. It looks like the leather fabric, one of the designers on project runway poored bleach on for the effect. it is a beautiful jacket
10/18/12 3:57 PM
knitlitcamper said...
I think it looks fantastic :)
10/20/12 5:28 PM
Carolyn.S said...
I love it in the funkier fabric!
10/21/12 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5402

photo
by: neon8tl

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now