Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6097 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1078 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SewWil
photo
Friend of PR
About SewWilstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/10/10
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 167 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:10/18/12 10:07 PM
Last Updated:11/7/13 9:29 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6097 by SewWil

Pattern Photo:New Look 6097
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:Workroom from Project Runway, misses' belted knit dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look Just 4 Knits sewing pattern.

Pattern Sizing:10-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I'm a sucker for a faux wrap. I like the pockets on this dress.

No dislikes.

Fabric Used: ITY knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: My fabric had a lot of stretch so I shortened the neck facing by 1" to allow the neckline to sit flat on my chest. Worked great.

I lengthened the belt to wear as a sash instead of with a buckle as pictured on the pattern.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I'm definitely making another dress with the longer sleeve and tabs. I would recommend this pattern.

Conclusion: I love this dress. It comes together pretty quickly with very little fuss.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
Pretty, pretty dress! I love your sewing, it is always so perfect.
10/18/12 10:32 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute and love the fabric!
10/18/12 10:36 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Lovely! Great tip about shortening the neck facing.
10/18/12 10:41 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Great for work and play! Beautiful color
10/18/12 11:01 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Great looking dress! Looks wonderful on you as always. I just finished this dress as well. This is a great pattern!!!
10/19/12 0:31 AM
ArtAttack said...
Very cute! This is coming up soon in my queue so thanks for the review.
10/19/12 0:37 AM
tigergirl said...
Your garments always look outstanding and much better than the envelope pictures. Here's another one that fits that criteria.
10/19/12 1:18 AM
Jrhee said...
Very pretty dress!
10/19/12 1:19 AM
Scheri said...
Looks very nice on you
10/19/12 1:41 AM
pdiddly said...
that looks beautiful, might have to add it to my list.
10/19/12 4:53 AM
jlg said...
Another fabulous dress that fits you perfectly.
10/19/12 5:33 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Beautiful and chic! This is one of my favorite dress patterns. Thanks for the smart tip regarding the neck facing!
10/19/12 6:10 AM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
Adorable dress and I love it with the blue shoes! Thanks for the review and the hint about shortening the facing - I am hoping to cut out this pattern today!
10/19/12 10:08 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks dress looks really nice, you did a great job on it. Wonderful fit!
10/19/12 10:31 AM
cleverkitty said...
I like everything about this dress, pockets, color and your belt. I have this pattern and hope when I make it I can can have a similar look.. well maybe... can I borrow some inches/height from you? :)
10/19/12 11:44 AM
SavageCoco said...
Another stunner! You do such beautiful work.
10/19/12 11:53 AM
hpsauce said...
Love this..now I Want one!
10/19/12 4:22 PM
Merche said...
This looks perfect. You have the ability to match each pattern with the perfect fabric and print. Im in awe, once again
10/20/12 9:51 AM
SewPrincess said...
Very pretty! Great dress!!
10/20/12 2:58 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/21/12 1:38 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm sold. I thought I had every wrap dress, but a wrap dress with pockets? A must-have. You look terrific, as usual.
10/21/12 12:44 PM
sdp717 said...
Lovely dress! The fabric is very pretty.
12/10/12 0:27 AM
sdp717 said...
Lovely dress! The fabric is very pretty.
12/10/12 0:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Butterick 4978
photo
Review by Vellela on 1/24/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2403 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by chickenlip... on 10/2/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1357 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1357 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8807 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8807 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us