SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Gertie's Sultry Sheath (The Sultry Sheath)

Viewed 955 times 
Reviewed by:sugarduck
photo

 
 
About sugarduckstar
FRANCE
Member since: 2/7/10
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/12 2:15 PM
Last Updated:10/22/12 6:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful dress! I love the fabric you used too. After taking the Bombshell dress, I really think this book is going to be on my Christmas wish list. I love the idea of Gertie's work with retro inspired dresses/techniques compiled in a book. Don't even mind the couture effort either. The results are so worth it!
10/22/12 6:36 AM
birdmcfarland said...
wow! this is exquisite! I think you talked me into buying this book. You look incredible. Fabulous work!
10/22/12 6:57 AM
jlg said...
Fabulous dress and jacket. So elegant.
10/22/12 7:09 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
My oh my! I'm sold on this pattern and I love your dress. Great job and thanks for the review!
10/22/12 7:24 AM
sewnotwork said...
Very nice! Especially the neckline. I always worry that necklines like that would gape on me. Especially bateau neck lines.
10/22/12 7:51 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Tres, TRES chic. The fit and fabric are perfection and the neckline is extremely flattering. I'm ordering this pattern for the holidays, without a doubt. Thanks for bringing it to my attention..
10/22/12 9:09 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
This silhouette is wonderful at showcasing your figure! The neckline is super flattering and the skirt highlights your slim hips and curves. Gorgeous!
10/22/12 9:47 AM
ArtAttack said...
Simply gorgeous and both pieces look sensational on you! Great job!
10/22/12 10:02 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress is fabulous!! I love Gertie's blog. I will have to get her book now.
10/22/12 10:34 AM
lakaribane said...
J'ADORE!!! Trop classe!
10/22/12 1:48 PM
Deepika said...
Beautiful dress. Fits perfectly!
10/22/12 2:55 PM
sugarduck said...
Thank you everyone for your lovely comments! It's always so encouraging when a fellow seamstress appreciates your work!
10/22/12 4:10 PM
sewbarbie said...
This is a great marriage of style and cloth.
10/22/12 11:47 PM
tigergirl said...
Wow! This looks fantastic on you - great job.
10/23/12 0:06 AM
Cristinagf said...
Looks awesome!!! I have the book and you've motivated me to try sewing from it now....
10/23/12 4:54 AM
Symon said...
Great review, thank you for the info and for confirming that the pattern was drafted on a B cup - that's so helpful to know ahead of time! ^__^ Your version turned out so stunning - beautiful fabric, and the back view especially is just lovely! :) I'm so glad it hasn't got too much excess ease as well... I'm really looking forward to sewing a lot of the garments in this book! :)
10/23/12 10:45 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely lovely.
10/23/12 12:48 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress and great review! I have this book as well and agree it is wonderful. I think you've motivated me to try to sew something from him. Honestly so far I've been just content with reading through it and looking at all of the wonderful garments.
10/24/12 10:33 AM
AncientElna said...
Thanks for including your wonderful detailed comments on pattern alterations. Very useful. And, of course, I must say your cocktail ensemble is stunning on you!
10/25/12 3:09 PM
Leu said...
I love your dress! I sent you a pm about that slit because I am working on the pencil skirt, too!
10/27/12 11:45 AM
SquishSews said...
Wow, gorgeous!!! Very inspiring!
10/30/12 11:16 PM
LDT2011 said...
Your dress looks great.
11/2/12 7:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 1823

photo
by: SewNikki

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now